White Shirt Monday: Suit Yourself

[What's better than one mezzo White Shirt? Two mezzo White Shirts! - Varduhi Abrahamyan (Bradamante) and Malena Ernman (Ruggiero) in Handel's (and Christof Loy's new Zurich) "Alcina", Zurich 2014. - Photo Credit: Monika Rittershaus for Opernhaus Zürich)]

It’s been a week. I’m merely checking whether I’m over Malena Ernman in a suit yet.

Hmm, let me think…

[Malena Ernman as Ruggiero in Handel's"Alcina" as staged by White Shirt favorite Christof Loy, Zurich 2014. - Photo Credit: Monika Rittershaus]

Uhm, no.

I guess not.

Not now. Not ever.

[I propose an operatic Black Knight series. Bonus point: Ms. Ernman could do all her own stunts. - Malena Ernman as Ruggiero in Handel's"Alcina" as staged by White Shirt favorite Christof Loy, Zurich 2014. - Photo Credit: Monika Rittershaus]

~ by Anik LaChev on February 3, 2014.

9 Responses to “White Shirt Monday: Suit Yourself”

  1. I can’t think of Alcina without recalling Naglestad and Coote….
    And then there’s Kasarova. One shouldn’t compare I suppose.

  2. on related note, i can’t seem to get past the addictive (Bartoli) Alcina’s profile

  3. I saw Alicina at ENO with Sarah Connolly as Ruggiero. She was wonderful and it was such a great production. I was going through a really bad time at work and it was so much fun and so fabulous that it helped to pull me out of a bit of a downward spiral. Unfortunately ENO dumped their Alcina. Such a crime.

  4. I’m even more tempted now, but it’s so expensive to fly to Zürich I think I’ll only do it for Kasarova… Speaking of which, I dreamt she had a very tall, elegant femme wife with long auburn hair. I was insanely jealous.

  5. link sent from Cat via someone else…
    a must-see

  6. Ah Anik this was an amazing Alcina. Obviously high bar to meet what with Kasarova and Harteros last time but for all around ensemble production, fantastic acting and mezzos stripping off white shirts Zurich wins hands down :) Bartoli was great I just loved her in this… but the whole cast were fantastic. Feel good production of the century so far :)

Leave a Reply

 
