CGMP! – more Alice Coote

cootedenieseglndbourne2008photomike.JPG

[Danielle DeNiese (Poppea) and Alice Coote (Nerone) in the Glyndebourne 2008 production of Monteverdi’s “L’incoronazione di Poppea”. Photo by Mike Hoban]

[click to enlarge]

Another edition of CGMP which brings us back to question of accessorizing when it comes to Hot Mezzos In Pants – what does it take? White shirts? Cufflinks? Black suits? Or a soprano in a skimpy outfit on one’s arm?

poppea_nero_final_duet.JPG

[Photo: Mike Hoban, Glyndebourne 2008]

11 thoughts on “CGMP! – more Alice Coote”

  1. “Another edition of CGMP which brings us back to question of accessorizing when it comes to Hot Mezzos In Pants – what does it take? White shirts? Cufflinks? Black suits? Or a soprano in a skimpy outfit on one’s arm”

    It takes Attitude.

    Like

  2. Tomorrow night I’m making my way down to DC to pick up my DVD of Alcina with Alice Coote and Catherine Naglestad. Yeah.

    Like

  3. @Lisa: it seems that you have the most interesting evening plans of all of us! 😉 Oh, to be watching that for the first time again… (I hope you don’t wear glasses. Mine kept fogging up!)

    Like

  4. Well, I finally picked up the Alcina DVD. I also did an impulse buy of Handel’s Orlando with Marijana Mijanovic as Olando from the Zurich Opera House in 2007. Being retired Navy I’ve got a thing for women in uniforms. Let’s hope it sounds as good as it looks.

    Lisa

    Christ I’m dangerous with a credit card.

    Like

  5. @Lisa: oh, that is a nice Orlando, Mijanovic is excellent!
    The setting is inside a psychiatric clinic around 1900 (since Orlando is going mad). And yes, uniforms, Mhmm. Joyce DiDonato has stage photos of her Ariodante on her website (www.jocyedidonato.com) where I never get past that green army coat…

    Hope you enjoy watching the productions!! 😉 Naglestad and her many skimpy outfits in “Alcina” are another interesting aspect. Of course, I was so immersed in her singing that my then girlfriend had to point a certain moment out me (you will know what I mean when you get there…)!

    Like

  6. @Vita: thanks for the links and the heads up! Mezzos in pants, there can truly never be too many of them. Particularly when one of them is Patricia Bardon!

    Like

  7. Regarding this production Glyndebourne’s Poppea. I heard somewhere that there’s going to be a DVD release. Does anybody know when?

    Like

  8. @opera.mad: I’ve heard the rumors, too – looking at Glyndebourne releases, it usually takes them between 2 and 3 years, so it might be a while yet, but since they put out most of their productions on DVD these times, I’m at least comfortably certain when it comes to those rumors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

