The “Capuleti e Montecchi” White Shirt Extravaganza 2012 – Live Thread

Welcome to the live comment thread for Bellini’s “Capuleti e Montecchi” videostream from Bayerische Staatsoper Munich, starring Vesselina Kasarova as Romeo and Anna Netrebko as Giulietta. Take your seats and adjust your shirt cufflinks, the party starts at 7 p.m. (GMT+1)!

Follow the lorgnette above if you still don’t have a link to the stream, and then comment along. I have the distinct feeling that the White Shirts might crash the server tonight. Dr. T is live at the scene and might give us a feedback in the break if she gets around to it.

171 thoughts on “The “Capuleti e Montecchi” White Shirt Extravaganza 2012 – Live Thread”

  1. G’day Anik & alle! It’s the end of the world, you see…. It’s 2012 and I am not late to the party!😀

    Like

  2. Hello and goodbye white shirts – sadly have to go out tonight so no white shirt fest for me, hope I might catch a bit of the end (opera and live blogging). But if not, enjoy folks (I know – absolutely redundant sentiment, how could you not :))

    Like

  3. Hey Eyes & Cat, too. We’ll remember everything for you, Cat (and hopefully they’re taping this for DVD release, ay? Fingers crossed).🙂
    I’m rather liking how the overture is going.

    Like

    1. Nope…. perhaps they could use some chili, too!😉 (too warm here for chili. But iced mocha is going down well)

      Like

  4. Pittas is holding up well, spins a nice line and can do it in focused mezzopiano.

    …unless they tunnel him acustically and he has to press too much.

    Like

  5. Hey Suspa! My connection is playing tricks, too. Stop and go and jump a bit. Keeping fingers crossed. Romeo is turning up in just a bit.

    Like

      1. With Anna N on the screen, I guess we don’t need any whip cream topping?🙂 Darn, she’s sounding gorgeous!

        Like

        1. yes, I love how her top register hasn’t darkened that much (I had another impression from her Bolena from Vienna). From the middle register, this is almost “Pace mio dio”. But love that top, still very focused. Yum. And heeello, mezza voce!
          Also, I find her overall far more attractive past the initial hyped hot-young-thin-thing phase.

          Like

        2. She can still rock the Bel Canto pretty good but excursions into heavier rep await, curious how it will go. Her Contessa should be pretty interesting as well.

          Like

  6. love the command of low register, especially the chiaroscuro, the phrasing and the “attack” and heft of it. We can argue intonation, esp. in the first minutes, and the top acuto (her voice has grown heavier and often takes longer to open up), but that’s okay by me.

    Like

  7. if you compare this with last year’s opening night, it’s such a contrast of voice color – Erraught and Nakamura with their light, youthful timbres were an almost twin-like match. And now Kasarova/Netrebko sound much more like two grown people with a much more dramatic, darker, layered sound bespeaking so much more life experience.

    Like

  8. ….Good thing both Anna N and VK are straight… I can’t imagine any of them could sing while looking so loving at the other if they’re gay. I’d be like dumbstruck voiceless or something…

    Like

  9. O gosh, I can just shoot the video director/camera guy! Why does he keep cutting to hanging stirrups or cross just when he should stay with the singers????

    Like

    1. indeed!

      fine, pitch tanked a bit in the a cappella bit, but their timbres go together really well, they both phrase very, very intelligently and balance each other very well. Reminds me why belcanto repertory can be sooooo good!

      Like

      1. The opera queens here like to bash Anna on her bel canto stuff. I don’t care if she isn’t Joan Sutherland. She makes Giuletta alive for me. She’s cool.😀 And VK’s warmed up and sounding good!

        Like

    1. kind of had to grin along. Didn’t the reports last year say there was little to no touching? Did the grown-up voices usher in some more grown-up rapport between the lovers, as well?😀

      Like

      1. I think they did La clemenza di Tito together at the ROH back in like 2001 or so (Netrebko was Servilia). I don’t think they have sung together since then (tho I could be wrong).

        Like

  10. I really hope they release a DVD…. hazy chorus and weird staging notwithstanding… if only for the Romeo-Giulietta scenes. They really seem so on the same page.😀
    Hey Dilys!

    Like

  11. but what on earth was the conductor doing just now in the entrance of the Cages aux Folles Ladies?!
    Eyes – already having a conniption?😉

    Like

  12. shirtsleeves, tux pants, sword, boots: merry Christmas🙂

    (although yes, that sword could be bigger. Then again, it’s not the size that matters😉 )

    Like

  13. I so love the finale of both acts of this opera… What am I talking about? I love the whole score of this thing!!! And it wasn’t even composed for this opera (Bellini composed most of it for another opera that tanked).😛

    Oooh, we get a Netrebko interview intermission feature!😀

    Like

  14. VK: “if I sing a duet with a colleague, I always thinking about being together, about belong together.” Then she talks about cadenzas and voices growing together. And all that.

    Like

    1. She practices what she says, too. She’s almost always even better in duets and ensembles than in solo numbers.

      Like

      1. yes, the duets are really, really strong tonight. SO looking forward to the face.off with Tebaldo (and hoping that the orchestra won’t try to overpower them).

        Like

  15. Dunno about Lacroix… Aside from Romeo’s white shirt I’m not very impressed with the costume, really, especially at his price!

    Like

    1. Perhaps if they spent less money on frocks ( are those women necessary?) they could afford a balcony instead of a sink!

      Like

  16. trying to follow up on VKS interview bits:
    “Like all other trouser roles, very demanding, very much about feeling, a bit tessitura, but also about the inner aspects, very emotional. It takes a lot out of you, especially the finali. – I remember when I first sang this, fourteen years ago, that something happened to me in the first time in my singing/stage life, I realized that the music, the emotion constricted the throat — [you are so moved] I think this is why people love Bellini’s music.”

    Like

  17. VK cont’d:
    “I am rarely nervous. I am always looking forward to and being happy about the performances. I am more the calm type.”

    Like

    1. great to watch, and I’m saying that despite not being taken by the staging or the costumes😉 (that white shirt excluded – that is one fine shirt!)

      Like

  18. Sorry friends listeners! I will read the thread later! I am enjoying myself tremendously; pity Vesselina does not chat about her role (I suppose and bel canto) in E,nglish. The amazing thing here her ‘timbre’ is clearer than Anna, her tops are amazingly clear and marvellous! I love the setting, the reflection in their love scene , wonderful! so much poetry …Thanks for opening this to friends of friends all over the world! My transmission is very good! Back to the show!

    Like

  19. Hey Stray! Where have you been? It was mostly great, I think. My connection was sucky at first and stopping and going until after Romeo’s entrance aria. Thought VK wasn’t quite well warmed up, but Anna N turned up full of heat, then the Romeo-Giulietta duets were fabulous… Chor was a bit out of sync at start of finale ensembles, but it worked out fine after that.

    Like

    1. hey funny that you think VK wasn’t warmed up very well, imo this was her best performance of the beginning so far (last year she was really weak there and on Wednesday she had much more problems with her high tones…much more pumping😉 …and this was the most applause she got since I saw her in this Capuleti

      Like

  20. And when we have both …. wie himmlische, nicht irdische, wie Rosen aus dem hochheiligen Paradies…

    ooops, wrong opera.😉

    Like

  21. Me think the staging is complicating the syncing a bit… everyone is facing different way and the chor is off the stage…

    Like

  22. never heard the “Giulietta” so lyrical – still half puzzled and oh so gently. Not by her, nor any other. Works. Mad props!

    Like

  23. the whole duel-duet rather lyrical, with some stronger accents – also worked well with the tenor. The recording is much more testosteronic there.

    Like

  24. like in the first duet: wonderful phrasing and shading, but sometimes in the a cappella sliding off pitch.

    Like

    1. oh yes, Eyes! thank you for that still.

      Did you cap some more? I tried, will probably do a pic spam for White Shirt Monday, if something turned out well.

      Like

    1. I would have turned into a syrup…. except that I was trying to figure out why Giulietta popped up and Romeo still thought she was dead… so I couldn’t melt effectively.😛

      Like

    1. yup, ‘sactly. (even the none-too-inspired staging in Liège was better!)

      (although the Romeo attire in Liège was WAY worse.)

      Like

    2. hey I guess I’ m the only one who likes most of the staging…it looks amazing, if you see it live, I think I’m kind of purist, only didn’t like the stair way scenes

      Like

      1. you, and every singer in the world!😉

        you’re right, it probably wins a lot in the theater, getting only cut angled doesn’t help (especially if they cut back to that crucified lovers marble statue all the time!)

        Like

    3. It probably looks better in theater indeed. It’s just that I can’t understand what it (staging) is trying to do or say. (I mean, I like the Orphee staging, and it is just as abstract, but it doesn’t get in the way of the story, so to speak). Do they explain the concept in the booklet?

      Like

    1. Good point, Lannoy. Forced labor, then! Make him build a proper balcony for Giulietta to hang out in instead of that tiny little sink!😀

      Like

  25. It’s been a pleasure to virtually go to the opera with you, as always – I’m looking forward to the next time already. Good night, everyone! (or whatever time of day it is where you are…)

    Like

  26. I didn’t expect VK to sound much like her 1998-2001 recordings, but… especially in the 2nd act she doesn’t sound much aged from a decade ago to me. Not as fluid, and not as easy on top, but a lot more nuanced… and she still rocks the stage in drag! I have a feeling this is her last run as Romeo, but she sounds to me like she could still sing him a couple more years.

    Like

    1. agree 100% on the nuances, And the biggest difference to me was the entrance and the duel duet, though the latter works just fine with the more lyrical approach.

      Like

  27. back. i have a crush on romeo…. wow, and Netrebko brought it too!! the two of them. i stood there screaming (now with sore throat) and clapping (hands still hurting…) they came out at least 6 times… now i’ll read through your comments to see if you had the same impression i did at the theater. VK rocks biiiig time, wow!!

    Like

    1. Hey Dr. T, looking forward to your detailed impressions of this performances once your voice and hands have recovered. I am still speechless!

      Like

    2. Dr. T.! Thanks so much for stopping by and letting us know how it went on the inside! It must have been a lot better still at the theater, but it was pretty amazing (to me, esp the phrasing, coloring and grip – through the belcanto roof in the duets!) online as well. The video editing, possibly also the sound mix was a bit off at times in the stream.

      Like

  28. just done scanning the comments🙂. I think i’ll write a post explaining the staging, now that this is my 6th time seeing it. That final scene finally made sense to me last wednesday! And it’s true what many of you said, you really need to see the whole thing instead of zoom-in version, so much perspective is lost. Anyhow, my head is now hurting from screaming “brava” too much🙂 .

    Also, now you see why i dislike the chorus, i don’t understand why, but it always sounds sooo muddled, like they connect all the notes together and coming in and out not in unison or something.

    ps- Eyes, wow that is such a fine fine screen capture. She looks soooooo beautiful from way above,❤❤

    Like

    1. Woohoo! So I’m looking forward to 3 very white shirt friendly blog posts this Monday then!😀 Thanks for checking in, Dr. T. (we tried looking for you when the camera panned into the audience, but I guess you were above the shot)😉

      Like

        1. Oh blast!!! I didn’t mean to do that – sorry. When does a link become a video? I’ve obviously done the wrong thing.

          Like

        2. it’s not you, it’s WordPress, it’s automated – edit in a space after the http:// and it goes away.🙂 Thank you for the link!

          Like

  29. So sad I couldn’t get back in time for the end – sounds like you all had a fantastic time! Thanks for the great commentary and all the links gang. White Shirts 4 ever🙂

    Like

  30. I just watched the clips from the ’97 Paris C&M – and I thought her voice was richer there – and it felt to me that there was more ‘spine’ in the role…. and the costumes were so much better!
    Of course this opinion comes from someone who is totally uninformed on the subject – so I ask forgiveness in advance for my most probably ignorant opinion.
    I have liked Jonathan Miller for ages – and I loved his praise of Kasarova’s acting ability.
    The difficulty here – it seemed to me – was that Romeo’s ‘context’ in this opera, even though it was about tragic love, was more social than personal, so it seemed to me that the role was more challenging in this respect – to me the libretto did not support the emotion as much as it deserved to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

