From The Writing Desk: Up Next

After six crazy weeks of late nights, the Bering & Wells story “Timeless” has been finished. In my entire dozen years of sharing fiction online, I don’t think I’ve ever written anything at such a frantic pace (and now I have the worst deadline hangover, but it’s been worth it).

For now, the story can only be accessed via the “Bering & Wells” or “writing” tag (password “Moses”), but I’m already clearing up a corner of the Writing Desk for the edited version. Yesterday, my beta spent 14 hours on the script and as soon as she’s done with it, I will go into editing mode and then upload the entire story in bigger chunks and without a password among the other fiction on the Writing Desk. I’ll write an alert post when that has happened, so those of you who want to reread the story in one piece with fewer typos don’t have to F5 the page.

While I was preparing the Writing Desk, I also took the chance to finally transfer and edit the last of my missing stories, the J/7 phantom-of-the-opera Über romance “Quando me’n vo”, first published in 2001.  I made only some slight edits and nixed a few typos, to leave the overall exuberance and romanticism of the piece untouched.

Since var[title] is more or less abandoned (and the ads bug the hell out of me), you can now find all my stories at the Writing Desk.  I also finally started to upload things to the Sketchbook section, with “Campus” graphics by Rykoe and some storybord/chapterboard glimpses. More to follow.

As for the fiction writing: for now, I’m focusing on the J/7 noir Über “Troubled Passage” (updates generally on Friday nights), but I will keep an eye on the Bering & Wells plot bunnies (after last night, they’re hiding behind the couch, and I don’t even have a  couch). Other than that (and some urgent tending to worldly non-fiction deadlines), I need to get back to editing novels 1-3, while trying not to cave in and run of with novel #4 and never get any work done again, ever.

22 thoughts on “From The Writing Desk: Up Next”

  1. Anik, I’ll be waiting for any news regarding ‘Timeless’ upload. I’d love to read it once again without jumping from chapter to chapter.
    I’m yet to watch yesterday episode but apparently H.G will be back next episode, so all is well 😀

    Like

    1. God, I hope everything can be well again. I am fearing a mind-numbing mid-season cliffhanger with HG either crazed or dead again or isolated, especially since it looks as if the production team has fallen under a Storybroke [sic] spell/curse and has forgotten all that was between Myka and HG. Nervous, nervous, wary. It will be a long week!

      Like

      1. since Myka/HG haven’t reunited yet (I’m assuming, otherwise Tumblr would’ve exploded with gifs by now) – we can’t lose hope. Although yeah…having in mind it’ll happen in the finale (the reunion) then they won’t have time to have a nice chat or hug or anything, since it’s going to be all action-like around them. Smart writers.

        Like

        1. I’m not even sure I believe in a reunion anymore — then again, hope dies last, right? (althoug really, they could take a break from all the dying, if you ask me)

          Like

          1. and there you go making my morning… thank you! 😀

            (damn it, now I am getting my hopes up again… hnngh, and I wanted to care less. Ah well, there goes my sanity…)

            Like

          1. well, you’re the one who told me, but yes: the show may wreck havoc on our brains and minds and hearts, but the fandom is a pillar of awesomeness that fixes everything. Even if all they have to go on is a gum and a paperclip. Hm, perhaps Bering & Wells is the MacGyver of fandoms there…

            Like

          1. *sigh*
            if I got myself a Tumblr, I would NEVER do anything else ever again. I barely manage to maintain this blog as it is…! but if my days had more hours, the Bering & Wells fandom would definitely lured me ito it by now. I feel like I’m missing out on so much! (other than my angry deadlines)

            Like

        2. True, ever since I joined Tumblr and consequently the WH13 and Bering&Wells fandom I’ve been anything but productive some days. They’re hillarious…and their passion is absolute.

          Like

          1. True, and they’re so good at it.
            I’ll just stick with my little writing corner and leave the Tumblr magic to those who are far more talented at it. 😉

            Like

  2. after 2 days or reading all I’m gonna say is THANK YOU for this wonderful journey that I have experienced while reading your story. This is the best Bering and Wells FF that I have ever read. You have made me believe once again that Myka and HG no matter what time or circumstances, they will always find each other. 🙂

    Like

  3. Anik, I loved reading “Timeless” it’s been one of my favourite fan fics so far (fan fiction is a recently discovered addiction of mine). You are a wonderfully adept writer, in use of language as well as story telling, and Thank you for the hours of reading pleasure, if this was a book, I couldn’t put it down until finished. I look forward to reading “Small Steps” online soon.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anon – Bering & Wells is a wonderful fandom and it was a pleasure to write “Timeless” among it.
      I’ll get back to editing my finished novels once I wrap up “Troubled Passage”, which has at least 8 more chapters to come (2-3 months ETA).

      Like

  4. I thoroughly enjoyed timeless…I read it in a day & can’t wait to read it over again..I love how you have written the characters so well..Bering & Wells will ALWAYS be my OTP & I now have a new favourite ff…Thank you!
    I hope you write more B&W in the future…I have already told others they have to read it! Regardless of the mess Syfy left us with we know that Bering & Wells will always be solving puzzles & saving the day & making time for love & all the good stuff that comes with it 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you for your feedback!
      And yes, Season 5 was an artifact-indiced shenanigan that never happened, and Pete and Myka had a good (and somewhat embarrassed) laugh once the neutralizer did its job, and Giselle was, just as Nate, a super-secret undercover mission that Helena had to undergo in her new job as a Regent, which Claudia will finally finagle out of her and tell Myka and then there will be a reunion and solving puzzles and saving the day and loving each other, end of story. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

