White Shirt Monday: Dragon Time

jnnfr hllwy ENO fldrms[Pajama time already? Count me in! – Jennifer Holloway as Prince Orlofsky in David Alden’s staging of Johann Strauss’ “Die Fledermaus”, London/ENO 2013. – Photo Credit: Robert Workman/ENO]

Well, faced with that jawline, I might not get out of my pajamas, either. Or at least not out of bed.

While David Alden’s (I recall, among others, his very well observed “Ariodante” with the Ginevra abuse storyline) staging is not undisputed and, as I would expect from him, doesn’t offer champagne sherbet glee (check Intermezzo’s review for a good summary), I can very much behind the idea of dragons on black silk.

If you’re around London this autumn: this “Fledermaus” is running at ENO until Nov. 6th, furter details (and media) can be found here.

6 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: Dragon Time”

  1. This was great! I was at the opening night (my birthday weekend was a trip over for Elektra, Fidelio and this!) and looking at the photo how I wish I was sitting closer. Her Orlovsky was hilarious, completely insane! Vocally very athletic and made you realise how tricky all those octave leaps are.

    I have to throw in a mention for Piezonka in Elektra though: she was stunningly beautiful, both vocally and in the flesh. Sadly that run is finished.

    Like

    1. yes, Pieczonka in pretty much anyting!
      Munich livestreams their new “Frau ohne Schatten” on Dec. 1st (I think, might be a day sooner) with Pieczonka, btw – no geoblocking. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yay, yay and yay! Thanks for sharing that. I love Frau also, and of course, Rosenkavalier, which oddly was also my grandmothers favourite opera.

        Like

Leave a Reply

