White Shirt Monday: Tall, Dark and Handsome

SC Nerone09[Oranges aren’t the only fruit? – Sarah Connolly as Nerone in Monteverdi’s “L’incoronazione di Poppea”, Barcelona 2009.]

If you can pull off gold-glittery tie-dye accessories and still look like a stud, you may just have the license to burn down Rome, gallivant about with soprano courtesans and live to brag about it. Bad Boy Connolly is one of my favorite Connollys, but then, most every Connolly is.

And if you haven’t seen the Liceu “Poppea” yet, get thee to YouTube – the whole thing is available in a 23-part playlist.

(as opposed to “Una stravaganza dei Medici”, which is another YouTube playlist and not really related, but it is something that I really wanted to download earlier and it is geoblocked over here. Argh. I ended up watching Poppea. For reasons.)

2 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: Tall, Dark and Handsome”

  1. I have to admit, I misspoke when I said Connolly’s Cesare was my favourite, because her crazed KD Lang-meets-Professor Snape Nerone is truly my fave. Because awesome. And also Monteverdi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

