From The Writing Desk: The Abbey

[a fun place to spend a nerdy medieval afternoon: Bildwirkerey von Bayeux.]

More Bering & Wells Über, this time in a medieval setting:

Helena is a knight, Myka is a nun. (That is the brief version.)

The somewhat longer version is that I really wanted to try a setting with knights, echoing Warehouse 13’s theme of journey and self-sacrifice when it comes to H.G. and Myka. But what really happened, and what is the full-length version behind this story, is the following:

After the show – which you don’t need to know at all to follow this story – produced its fifth season (the one that does not exist) and the spoilers for the final episodes were already making it clear that there would be no addressing of Myka and Helena or where they stood with each other at all, I began to wonder how even with limited resources (unavailable actresses, already crowded scripts), an at least open-ended ending would have been possible for Bering & Wells.

It would, naturally, have been frustratingly easy.

But that led me, disgruntled by the waste of possibility as I was, to another idea: to try and tell a love story, as epic as possible, with absolutely limited resources – with restrictions of setting, with minimal interaction, with no time, in only few words.

It was my way of sticking it to the show, in a manner of speaking, and of placing these two characters in a grand romantic setting – tragic and starstruck and destined to meet at swordpoint – with the kind of energy that permeated late season 3 of Warehouse 13. Which you really don’t need to know at all. All you actually need to do to enjoy this story is enjoy knight’s tales.

Also, it was such a fun opportunity to go all early Bible edition nerd and frame everything with Vulgate quotes (which you are free to ignore).

 

6 thoughts on “From The Writing Desk: The Abbey”

  1. Anik, I would first like to say thank you because it has been really great reading your stories again. You do an amazing job.
    Now for this story, I love it; both the alternate ending and the one you stuck with. I have to say I do like that she does come back in the alternate ending but I like the ending you went with. I don’t know how to explain myself at the moment. But I think it was nice that Sir George/Lady Helena was able to die on the Holy Land because in a way it would be the closest thing she could get to be with Mother Myka in the end. There would have been much more secrecy in the other ending for them until one dies of old age. It was all very sweet other way. So I totally enjoyed it.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the feedback. I am glad you enjoyed it! It’s a format I am still trying to figure out, with everything very condensed.
      I didn’t even think about the secrecy – a good point. I liked the idea of Helena coming back to Myka, but then I found it too neat, and I also wanted Helena to keep her life, to have them both keep their lives.

      Like

  2. Anik, it is so nice to read your work once again. I’ve read all of your recent stuff. I really enjoyed reading this story.
    You do have a way with words and plot lines. I look forward to more…..

    Like

    1. thank you, and it’s so nice to see you around again!
      I have two more stories to migrate and am presently working on a new one – it’s slow, but it’s something.

      Like

  3. Dear Anik,
    Many thanks for sharing your haberdashery with us. I suppose this requires a different sort of readiness from showing off a full ensemble—less formally public, less invested, more exposed.
    […]
    FF

    —–
    (DearFF, many thanks for your detailed comments! – moved to private discussion, following your ducal suggestion. Anik)

    Like

Leave a Reply

