Di lacci avvinto il pie (e l’orecchio): Handel this

[“Ma quando tornerai”: Anja Harteros as Handel’s “Alcina” (also, Monical Bacelli as Ruggiero, who does not sing here, but act, and I cannot decide of whom I am more jealous), staged by Robert Carsen and coducted by Giovanni Antonini. Milan 2009 – clip with thanks to Gudrun74]

So in case you thought I’d have crawled out of that Bacelli-Handel-Gudrun74-shaped crater by now – I have not.

Also, who would actually want to leave?!

My only beef with the aria is that it translates to “When you will come back” – as if any Ruggiero would leave in the first place.

6 thoughts on “Di lacci avvinto il pie (e l’orecchio): Handel this”

    1. yes, a pity that Ernani is not much of a repertory piece when it comes to that aria – perhaps Harteros will do it in concert at some point? I don’t know whether she already has (also, this has just given me an idea for another post, so thank you for that).

      Like

Leave a Reply

