Minding “Mitridate”: 2 weeks to go!

later WSM 7

[Impetus! – Reviews (scarce as they are) of last week’s “Mitridate” opening at La Monnaie repeatedly praise the Rousset/Ruiten/Papatanasiu take on “Se viver non degg’io”, so that should make for an interesting point of comparison. Available reviews are linked here in the comment section. Also, we set a streamblogging date now. Details after the cut! – Pictured above in the TCE take: Patricia Petibon (Aspasia) and Myrtò Papatanasiu (Sifare) in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, Paris 2016.]

No, I have not run out of screencaps yet. That’ll take a while longer.

The Le Lab production of Mozart’s “Mitridate” at La Monnaie – starring, among others, Michael Spyres as Mitridate, Lenneke Ruiten as Aspasia, Myrtò Papatanasiu as Sifare and David Hansen as Farnace, and being conducted by Christophe Rousset – will be available for streaming on demand as of May 24th, 8 p.m. (GMT+2) via the La Monnaie website.

I will host a streamblogging event here on Eye Bags on May 25th, starting at 9 p.m. (GMT+2 – Brussels Daylight Savings Time). If you feel like joining in, you’re cordially invited to watch along, wherever you are in the world, and fangirl snark share impressions in the comment section meanwhile.

Or – this just in – we might have to forward the whole thing because tomorrow night at 7 p.m. (GMT+2),  ARTE Concert is airing it live  (aaaaaaaah. And also O ciel, domani!!).

I cannot host tomorrow night, though (sorry as I am), since I have a conference until 8 p.m. which I cannot cancel (*curses!*), so I would likely only be able to join in at 8:30 p.m. the soonest.
Another concern is whether some of us (myself included) might be geoblocked. In either case, I could open a liveblog post for those interested, though it would largely happen in my absence.
If the livestream remains available, we could prepone the streamblogging to this weekend (say, Friday at 9 p.m. Brussels time, GMT+2?), if not, I’d stick with the 25th.

later WSM 6

[I prefer the blurry shot for the energy it depicts, but here, have the clearly cut version, too (since there can never be enough of these, in my book). – Patricia Petibon (Aspasia) and Myrtò Papatanasiu (Sifare) in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, Paris 2016.]

6 thoughts on “Minding “Mitridate”: 2 weeks to go!”

    1. …just imagining my students’ reactions if I had a screencap on my wall. Oh dear.

      (But I really dig the blurry version, too. It is as if the stance is much clearer in motion – we see the drive of the moment, not a still)

      Like

Leave a Reply

