Minding “Mitridate”: …or tomorrow?

Bildschirmfoto 2016-05-11 um 17.28.14.png

This just in: ARTE Concert is airing a livestream of the Brussels “Mitridate” tomorrow evening at 6.55 p.m. (GMT+2, Brussels Daylight Savings Time).

This is not a drill.

I would move the blogging event to tomorrow – depending on whether those of you who wish to participate are geoblocked by ARTE or not – , but I’m in a conference and won’t be home from work until 8:30 p.m. at the earliest, so  I can’t really host the event.

If the performance remains available/downloadable, though, we could reschedule for this Friday? Or Saturday or Sunday? Otherwise, I’d stick with the 25th as announced previously.

33 thoughts on “Minding “Mitridate”: …or tomorrow?”

  1. I’m much in favour of this friday/saturday/sunday because on 25th I would only be able to join very late after my choir rehearsal. Also I don’t think we (and particularly two certain persons severely affected by greek soprano syndrome) will be able to wait if it’s available already. Arte mediathek can be downloaded, so maybe we can dropbox it for those geoblocked?

    Like

  2. jumping in quickly while viciously fighting my proposal…
    I don’t think i can wait that long either🙂, perhaps this friday? (i have to catch a flight on sat and gone entire wk after so the weekend won’t work..)
    If we could dropbox if geoblocked it’d be great!

    Like

  3. how about Friday, 9 p.m. (GMT+2), then? (Agathe, are your kids asleep by that hour? I hope mine will be.)
    — If ARTE uploads it, that is.
    Since the run is still going on, it’s possible that La Monnaie will not allow the usual storing on Arte Concert, and sometimes ARTE needs a day or two to upload a recording after a livestream. Dropboxing for anyone interested would be great (I’ll alert Lang, too). I only have 3GB, though, so if it’s a huge file, I can’t store it.

    Like

      1. Oh, I am sorry, Lang – if we do the blogging tomorrow night in the end it is really unaccommodating of Hong Kong time. I apologize. We are in so many different time zones that it is difficult to coordinate us all (but it also is amazing to see how the music brings us together across so many continents and time zones!)

        >

        Like

    1. Friday 9 pm would be great! I also don’t have more dropbox space unfortunately, best we wait until tonight and see what happens in Arte concert…

      Like

      1. Neat! Thank you for the offer, Laura (and let’s hope that it is downloadable! – if not, thadieu might try a live capture). Just walking out of my conference over here, no idea yet whether I geoblocked or not.

        >

        Like

          1. woh, i just walked into Aspasia in her bare bras with Sifare dragging the jacket on ground leaving… and i also remember a photo of this scene with the tie being removed… (not looking, just peeking to make sure the capturing machine is functioning properly😉 )

            Like

          2. Just caught the final bars of Se viver non degg’io and halleluja, I am not geoblocked, either. Switched it off again and am VERY MUCH looking forward to some collective fangirling tomorrow night! (If downloading/sharing works out)

            >

            Like

          3. ps- more peeking… just saw kissing!!!! think i have a knack for timing… (mainly trying to guage how much longer.. coz i am sooooo way late for work)

            Like

          4. so, in case it is not avail for post viewing and sharing is needed, anyone who would like please let Anik know (hope u r ok w this Anik) to pass email to me and i can send out link (will bcc). i took my glasses off to prevent peeking but sounds like a good duet judging by your reaction?😉

            Like

          5. Now I can finally receive it, too :-)(didn’t work on Ubuntu but does on windows). I’ll try later if it’s available after the life performance, and tell you if not. Looking forward to tomorrow!

            Like

          6. Anyone who wants a DL link, leave a comment with an email address (I can see that, but only I), or send me an email at aniklachev (@) web (dot) de

            >

            Like

  4. just wanted to bitch about Hansen: that was the worst Va, l’error mio palesa I have ever heard, completely unsuited voice. Didn’t catch his other arias not that I particularly want to after that showing. Very good singing by the others, looks like you people are being lavished this season😉

    Like

    1. Feeling free to join in tomorrow night and bitch about “us people”, too😉

      (Reviews on Hansen were mixed, I recall)

      >

      Like

      1. I wouldn’t bitch about your obsessive behaviour on your blog, now would I?😉

        it occurred to me later that the aria might be on the passaggio but still, it was that awful.

        Like

        1. Now I am sufficiently intrigued and will comment on it tonight! Well, unless I have nothing polite to say.

          >

          Like

    1. Nearly as good an argument as shoulders?😉

      I only saw 10 secs and will wait for the collective viewing tomorrow, plus my computer is acting up right now (DNS issues – argh!) so I have to repair that until tomorrow night

      >

      Like

  5. ARTE says “currently being encoded and available soon”, so fingers crossed for tomorrow.
    9 p.m. Brussels time it is, then (GMT+2). I better get the galas out!
    Loking very much forward to seeing you tomorrow night. And to repeat: whoever needs a copy, send me an email or leave an email address in a comment and I’ll hook you up so you can join in.
    Good night and a domani!

    Like

    1. Nesi is a mezzo, wouldn’t she be more likely to do Farnace? Sifare is awfully high in range… (Dehggi, did you see this? How about a mezzo Farnace?)

      Od that she is slated as Sifare, but hey, it’s Nesi (who, and I’m just saying, also happens to be Greek) and she has done a lot of really good Baroque work, so I am intrigued. Near impossble to get into Schwetzinger Festspiele, but they are high profule enough to justify some streaming somewhere. I will keep my eyes open!

      Also, I am SO IN FAVOR of this sudden “Mitridate” renaissance. Let there be as many “Mitridates” as there are “Idomeneos” and I will be one happy Early Mozart camper.

      Like

Leave a Reply

