Liveblogging: Mozart’s “Così fan tutte” from Aix (on Thursday)

cosiaix

[So… a balmy summer night with Sandrine Piau, Lenneke Ruiten, Kate Lindsey, and Mozart? Get the white wine, I am in! – While Arte has already aired this performance in early July, we didn’t manage to organize a liveblog event earlier. But there will be one this week!
You’re invited to watch and comment along this upcoming Thursday, August 4th, as of 8.30 p.m. (UTC+2). ARTE  has the the stream on demand, Aix has the detailed production info here – the men are sung by Rod Gilfrey, Joel Prieto and Nahuel di Pierro, the staging is by film director Christophe Honoré (who delivers his third opera staging with this “Così”), Louis Langrée conducts the Freiburger Barockorchester.
Pictured above: Lenneke Ruiten (Fiordiligi) and Kate Lindsey (Dorabella) in Mozart’s “Così fan tutte”, Aix-en-Provence 2016. – Photo Credit: Pascal Victor/Artcomart]

Now for some small print:

1) I petibontion that there  be a biker jacket and helmet for Sandrine Piau.

2) I petition the Freiburger Barockorchester bring the same continuo section as to the TADW “Agrippina”, with lingering shots into the pit.

3) Joking aside: This production is set in a Mussolini-governed 1930s Eritrea and heavily addresses racism.
I’ve also been informed by towanda, who has seen the performance already, that the staging starts out with a depiction of sexual violence, so if this is a trigger for you or you would simply prefer not to see that, skip the first few minutes. I’ll post the exact minute that is safe to tune in in an early comment in the liveblog (unless any of you who has seen it already provides the time stamp in the comments below this post, perhaps?).

I admit I have mixed feelings about the staging, but will reserve judgment. I have no mixed feelings, however, against the Freiburger Barockorchester playing Mozart and adding Piau, Ruiten and Lindsey (and, fine, also the men) to the mix.

4 thoughts on “Liveblogging: Mozart’s “Così fan tutte” from Aix (on Thursday)”

  1. I’m still thinking about what I think about this production. I’m not sure I can join in the liveblog on Thursday but will watch again and join in the convo when I can. I’m curious as to what you all think of it.

    I do think folks need to know there are other depictions of sexual/racist violence besides the one at the beginning. I don’t want to give too much away but this is not really staged as a comedy, so just know that going in.

    Like

    1. Thank you for the extended warning, towanda. We’ll proceed with caution (and I will keep Petibon’s biker Despina at hand for afterwards, in case we need to lighten the mood).

      Like

Leave a Reply

