Video Alert: Tornami a vagheggiar

babycomeback.png

It’s back!

Well, not yet, but it will be back – as part of the European Opera Days, Arte Concert brings back the Paris Mitridate (aka THE Mitridate), available as of Sept. 12th, to be enjoyed as stream on demand, apparently for several more months.

So for everyone who does not yet have a safety copy on their hard drives: here is your chance. I do not suppose the video quality will be much better or in any way edited, but I’ll watch it again just to make sure.

In fact, I’d suggest a Retro Liveblog to celebrate the event (since we clearly have not yet watched this enough or talked about this enough or done nightcap aria watching on YT or… nevermind), but that might turn out rather incoherent, with accident danger from all the swooning…?

(Apropos European Opera Days: we may have to liveblog another “Nozze di Figaro” soon – this time from De Nationale Opera, Amsterdam, on Sept 26th or shortly thereafter, because Crébassa (the production opened last night). Among other reasons (@Agathe: Karg!))

MTRDTE_PRS_16_tagyourself.png

[You didn’t think I wouldn’t post a still to go with this, did you now? – In this one, the entire White Shirt fandom likely is Agnés Aubé, in a state of otherworldly heartbreak. -Myrtò Papatanasiu (Sifare), Patricia Petibon (Aspasia) and Agnès Aubé (Older Lady-in-Waiting) in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, Paris 2016. – Photo Credit: Vincent Pontet]

36 thoughts on “Video Alert: Tornami a vagheggiar

  1. …and it says on the ARTE blog that they are working on German subtitles. Still no English subtitles in sight I’m afraid and it would be very good to have them in such a less well-known work. (my French has improved though in the course of ähm quite a lot re-watches).
    Karg is also singing in Amsterdam? Wow, that’s going to be one very cool Figaro. Just looked it up, let’s hope Bösch is in better form here then in the recent Alcina!

    Like

    1. Bösch tends to be a bit on the I-am-so-edgy side of bratty, but his work usually is smarter and more thought-out that than Alcina, I would say.
      Soo… that Figaro, Retro Mitridate, Galatea: we have to make a list (I’ll try to get around to a post tomorrow).

      The Germans subtitles “in a few days” were announced in Feb., I am not holding out for them – in my screencapping, I was mostly annoyed that I could not switch the French ones off, but you’re right, it helps a lot with unknown works/unclear diction. Though by now, we probably have most of Mitridate memorized in Italian AND French.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. yes, i’d like to vote for Retro Mitridate for next next outing. For next outing, we did only have one on the plate for voting, Galatea? I am for that, though i’m also open if you have any other suggestions. With Galatea at least i get to see S.Prina again, now with new eyes🙂 . i still love her Cesare.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. thadieu, you are turning into a Prina fan?, I like that! Should we maybe say 9:30 on Saturday, would be more secure for me and if I’m still late, just start already (although I’d like to see you comments on that really charming Sorge il di).
        Btw. I have a version of Paris Mitridate without any subtitles (was apparently on ARTE at some time) and I would be happy to send it to you but it’s a 3GB file, so my dropbox can’t handle it, unless you can tell me a technique to downscale it. Or maybe ARTE will make the re-streaming more sophisticated with subtitles to chose.

        Like

        1. if you’re running linux i can tell you how to split it, and if Anik is running mac i think i can tell you also how to put it back🙂 (more when i wake up, but essentially Agathe will be using the command “split” while Anik will use “cat”).

          yes, i really love her Cesare! she really showed me a side i haven’t seen before.. 9.30pm sounds good. i think it’s a short opera so even if we need to start at 9.45p your time it should be ok for me.

          Like

          1. you’re such a wiz, Dr. T. Thank you for the instructions.
            I mean I would HAPPILY buy a HD DVD of this. I would buy two, in fact, to have a safety copy in storage! (and in case I wear one out)
            But if that is not possible – well…

            I put up the hour for Sat as 9.45 since the opera is short, and if we start on the dot, it’ll hopefull give Agathe enough time to get things sorted out beforehand? Looking forward to some more Aprinappreciation!

            Liked by 1 person

        2. back: here’s what you can do:
          http://askubuntu.com/questions/54579/how-to-split-larger-files-into-smaller-parts
          On Agathe’s end, say you want to split the file into chunks of 1GB each:
          split -d –bytes=1G bigfilename smallchunk ,
          you’ll get a bunch (3 or 4 depending on how bytes are counted) of files, e.g., smallchunk01, smallchunk02 smallchunk03, smallchunk04

          then you can share them one by one, then on Anik’s side, after getting all four chunks, start “terminal” on mac , change directory to where you are by using the command cd
          (e.g., cd ~/Desktop/folder_where_you_store_smallchunk/ )
          then use cat to put the files back
          cat smallchunk* > bigfile.mp4 or whatever format it is (mkv, avi, etc.)

          Like

          1. Ha ha, thanks for the quick nerdy help, I tried this but could only view smallchunk a, the others were not readable. However, somehow this processing of the file has resulted in German(!) subtitles becoming visible, they must have been hidden somewhere, so it’s probably not of much help for you, Anik? If you still want those, I’ll try to get readable files again on Sunday when I have more time.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. there are German subtitles somewhere?! Astonishing.
            And no, don’t lose time of this, please. I was just angling for a subtitle-free version for puristic viewing (and possibly another screencap or two. Since I didn’t post enough of them yet).

            Like

          3. quick note Agathe, they are not meant to be viewable except the 1st chunk which contains the header, that s ok. everything would be ok once “cat” is used to put thinks back. and i love the German hidden bit though😀. if you ever end up using ffmpeg i could even show how you might be able to choose German or no subtitle… (but not 100% sure until i try myself.)

            Like

    1. Oh, it would be fantastic if you could join in! Date could be anything as if Sept 19th – Thadieu is pretty much blocked during the week and I’m out on a conference this week, plus Agathe is busy on Sunday.

      Btw, it seems ARTE, other than adding a fancy intro, has cleared up audio and video (I may have to post all the screen caps all over again!)?

      Downloading has issues this time – files have shaking image and often no audio (I made a few test tries), one version clicks in at 4:35 because the entire 1st Act is added in the end for a second time – not that I would complain about it. Perhaps ARTE will still modify that?

      Subtitles are available in French and German now.

      >

      Like

      1. Update (and I will make a separate post tomorrow, if I find the time):
        Downloading worked fine just now (even though the French version still clocks in with the extra first Act), and the image quality is notably better.
        And. AND. Just as in Brussels, this re-upload of the Paris Mitridate (which was filmed on two nights) is basically a new version because it sports multiple small changes – different angles and different frame cuts, sometimes different zoom/focus (I only looked into the overture /& AL destin because I am waiting for the group event we HAVE TO SCHEDULE ASAP).

        One could say that this is a video I know reasonably well since I may have watched it, oh, an inordinate and embarrassing amount of times. Possibly, frame by frame. And I could give you a mark sheet from the moment of Agnès Aubé walking in to make the coffee of where things are different because I can tell by now.

        This is a gift of a an additional look at things, and I cannot wait to completely lose my marbles over it in the liveblog. (you can see the difference in image quality at this moment, just as well as the different choice of angle. Yes, it had to be this moment to make my point. Don’t pretend you don’t know me better at this point.)

        Liked by 1 person

          1. The soonest date possible, if I compile everyone’s dates, would be Sat 24th, then? (inconceivably long away, I know) would that work for everyone? I will set up a Doodle later, I think.

            >

            Liked by 1 person

        1. ps2- so… i investigated a little, no no, not cheating😉, but.. uhm.. yes, the resolution has improved significantly! and some cuts/angles.. lots to discuss/lament! but one point of major concern: the audio is lagging behind the video!! I can fix that (as well as probably getting rid of the extra Act..) And whoever would like a fixed version can also ask for a redistribution.. though in 3 days my dropbox room will go down under 3gb so i’ll have to do the chopping into 2 parts probably…
          (and i also notice.. though the sound seems “clearer” it’s also suffering a bit too much from cleaning perhaps.. the dynamics seemed to be reducing.. but ok, i’ll stop here.. and promise i won’t cheat and watch anymore.. was just some initial investigation ..)

          Like

          1. Audio evened out and out of synch? I had the audio so low last night that I didn’t notice, but that’s a high price to pay for better image quality. I vote for a sync version! (Split and rejoin would be fine) And for subtitle removal, because the discrete white ones were one thing, but this huge ones in glaring yellow infringe on my viewing. Plus we have pretty much memorized the entire opera at this point.

            >

            Like

        2. How exciting! Sat 24th works fine for me.
          thadieu, I would very much appreciate a “fixed” version because that kind of discrepancy between video and sound usually drives me nuts. Can’t wait so see this!
          In the meantime I’m having more fun with Comte Ory, the singing is just soo brilliant and from the staging side, while it is mostly somewhat traditional, I think it’s marvellous how this threesome scene manages to be hot and funny and still appealing to a normative audience (at least it seems like it from their reactions). Also it nearly seems Rossini/his libretist had something like that in mind, at least the text/music works very well with that idea, how progressive!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 24th 9 p.m. then? YAY!

            So glad you are enjoying the Rossini – the score and the singing are SO good, and the staging really manages to cover a lot of bases. And a lot of pink.

            I fully trust Rossini to have done this on purpose.😉

            Like

          2. and some news from me: the yellow subtitle unfortunately is there to stay because they embedded it.. (you can test actually, with all versions you and Agathe have: if you open via vlc and have an option to pick subtitle track, then obviously i can remove it/them.. but if that is not an option, then indeed the text has been embedded..)
            Lastly, as i was quite bothered by the “clean up” version of sound, i might take the liberty to input *two* soundtracks, 1 this cleaned up version, and 1 the radio recording (if i have time to get around to it). Thus we will have option to switch soundtrack as needed.

            Like

          3. thanks for clearing that up – embedded it is. Meh. I guess now we have to devise a paper cutout to tape across that part of the screen because I do not need French or German yelled at me while I try to focus on the performance.
            Double soundtrack sounds great (but also like a lot of work adn I know you’re extremyl busy at the moment, so don’t sweat it). ARTE should ahve hired you to oversee the re-edit in the first place😉

            Like

  3. wish i could join you! i was watching a little and definitely a better quality this time. all the more to enjoy. will there be a dropbox-ing of a, um, safety copy? my downloader hates me.

    Like

    1. We’ll likely DB a copy with the corrected audio sync before Sat – I will alert you to that. alternatively, I could DB you the YT copy of the new edit, which is available via the usual suspect.

      >

      Like

        1. Global access to opera is a noble goal, right? And since there is no DVD to purchase… We’ll sort something out by Saturday – if you can wait that long?

          >

          Like

Leave a Reply

