The Copenhagen 2013 “Aci, Galatea e Polifemo” Liveblogging Thread

liveblog_header_n1.jpg

Welcome to the White Shirt live comment thread for Handel’s “Aci, Galatea e Polifemo” from Copenhagen (2013), with Sonia Prina as Galatea, Deborah York as Aci and João Fernandes as Polifemo.
Concerto Copenhagen is conducted by Alfredo Bernardini, the staging is by Deda Cristina Colonna (special mention to Hair and Make-Up by Jens Gunnar).

The production is available via YT; libretto (1708 version) can be found here in English and Italian, here in German and Italian.

[PS. I thought the liveblog header could do with an upgrade to go with the newer design. With thanks to the fim team who filmed the Orfeo 55 “Duello amoroso” concert at Sablé, I found the suggestion of a female figure sitting in the dark awaiting the start of a performance, or experiencing a performance, very fitting. Also very Rilke-ish in the sensual tension of “indelibly the smallest commotion / will leave an imprint / on the taut process of distance”]

 

221 thoughts on “The Copenhagen 2013 “Aci, Galatea e Polifemo” Liveblogging Thread”

          1. and we can talk about how envious i’m about your upcoming scheduled concert with E.Haïm… and how exciting it must be to have EH arriving in the same town and bringing new breath of fresh air!

            Like

  1. ok, we get it, he is into Galatea and she is not into him Why do entitled dudes always have to make a drama about that? Can’t they write a few quiet sonnets like everyone else?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. was about to say the same thing. I dig the setting! (anyone else suddnely want a Carlsberg).
      I’d also have an overall while helping you build, only in a darker color ;_)

      Like

  2. Right, the overalls are cool, too (no kidding, we had an all ladies company here to plan building the terrace, unfortunately it did not match with our timelines, but no idea if they would have worn overalls)

    Like

    1. might be mcs, but the output is very unbalanced overall (not complaining, I am just glad it is out there i some version).

      Damn, Prina is great, though.

      Like

  3. It is probably not a recommendation of my person when I admit that I have been to bars where women sported both this Galatea’s hair and this Aci’s fur vest.

    Like

      1. In my defense, it was the late 90s, there were still more more lesbian bars out there (Eastern Germany), and also, I was very young.

        Like

      1. i think those are the wings of butterflies.. which reminded me they were quite prominent in the other version w/ S.Mingardo too..
        oh, here comes Aci’s excitement.. i don’t think they’re wearing mic.. her warm voice is saturated..

        Like

    1. oh, now i remember what he looks like.. that character in “highlander”
      but i like his voice. he’s doing a much better job than Antonio Abete in S.Mingardo’s version. sadly his voice is also saturated

      Like

    1. Clearly a malfunctioning drone – can’t you just imagine 7o9 goving him her best detached stare declaring, “Irrelevant and inefficient”?

      >

      Like

          1. But I was mildly interested (at least I watched it without resistance) in Star Wars, mostly because of Nathalie Portmann, more credit points please!

            Like

          2. “Resistance is futile” (sorry, Trekkie joke)

            Natalie Portman, however, is a perfectly good reason for many things.

            Like

          3. Nathalie Portmann you said? (not to be confused with Stutzmann..) let me go google..
            I have to tell you both, the only thing vaguely resembling Star Wars / Trek cult I’ve come across was “Galaxie Quest” for which I absolutely love S.Weaver and Mathesar, “You are our last hope…” .. ok, will be back from googles/links..

            Like

          4. but indeed Polifemo looks just like them! (they ‘re from Star Trek right?)
            and i take it N.Portman is the taller one? i remember reading somewhere she’s a model? and that they gave her that suit that took forever to put in and she was sweating bucket.. and everytime she needed a bathroom break it was a nightmare getting in and out… but when was this thing? pre-1990? because i only recall vaguely seeing them being shown on TV at midnight or something.. and at that time xena was taking over the world (at least my younger bro’s world..) While walking around today i think i’ve figured out partially why she was not occupying my world: i think it’s the balance thing.. à la Michele Yeoh.. and somehow i don’t handel well seeing women being given a sword for acting and look.. (but clearly this is just my hung up..)

            Like

          5. Have you not seen Black Swan? That’s Nathalie Portmann (I don’t think she is a model). Ballet and psychiatry, and white swan making out with black swan, splendid movie!

            Like

          6. yes, it’s Tove’s clip! i randomly ran into it on tube and traced it back indeed to your site during some discussion.. that video alone is worth a gathering! (and perhaps we should do a gathering of that epic white-shirt Orphée!)

            Like

          7. subtext lesbians of the 1990s… they headed one of the biggest queer fandoms next to Xena back then. (I may have been part of that. I may have appeared to Pride Parades with Trek shirts. I will shut up now.)

            Liked by 1 person

          8. They are from Star Trek (and appeared in episodes, still before the grand mutation, in the 1960s. Then in the 80s, 90s, and early 2000s) and Polifemo really reminded me of them.

            Nathalie Portman was on Star Wars. The tall blonde in the other linked photo is Jeri Ryan in tar Trek Voyager (which began airing in the mid 90s), who could at times barely breathe in her costume.

            Xena… no, not a martial art champion like Yeoh or Ming-Na Wen. But most Westerners (like me) may simply not know enough to judge that and enjoy the campy poses. Much of the Xena stunts (like doing 20 sommersaults) was supposed to be fun that did not take itself to seriously.

            (and there is the gay thing – 15 before Ming-Na Wen played Camile Wray on Stargate Universe)

            Like

        1. After the whole work, I’d say tessitura is a little on the high side and works better with a somewhat lighter voice, but can you imagine….!

          >

          Like

          1. agreed – thadieu was suggesting the range recently and I always said I’d have to relisten in-depth, but after last night I think the tessitura would not be a good fit, and it calls for a lighter voice with a more slender focus.

            Like

          2. yes, if you listen to D.York or S.Piau’s ease of expression and flexibility. The soprano singing with S.Mingardo has a darker tone and less flexibility, and sounded quite different (in fact so different i didn’t realize the details of Aci’s music until after hearing D.York. I think visualization helps.. because S.Piau is so flawless but I can’t really say I could tell exactly what she was singing about — also a recording versus this one live.. note that recording of course was with E.Haïm and S.Mingardo of course. and yes, with L.Naouri (i give myself bonus point for remembering his wife’s and not his name :p )

            Like

          3. we did know whom you meant – all you need is a feasible shortcut. I think my favorite Naouri (acting) performance is his Agamemnon in the Belle Hélène in the Pelly staging, his aggravated dancing at the beach in the final act is priceless.

            Ok, I will check out the Mingardo version Aci and then get back to you, perhaps I am missing something. York really made an impression last night!

            Like

    1. Yes, the whole entitled rape culture thing is not a 20th century invention – it’s that same “but I want this woman so I rightfully deserve her affection and when she turns me down she is evil and heartless and should be punished.”

      There is so much of that in Baroque cantata work that I sometimes can’t stomach repertory I musically love any longer, because of the idealization of sexist storytelling.

      >

      Like

        1. Yes, definitely. Early Music suits her better than Gluck, she never gets to play these strong suits she shows here in the Orphée.

          Like

      1. How could I ever guess THAT!😀

        I have a soft spot for Mijanovic in Zurich, but I like her even better in the Vivaldi version.

        >

        Like

    1. I’m guessing it is sort of Baroque, only it isn’t because they fall back into modern gesture in between and move their bodies in a modern manner, too?
      That bit does not really work or me.

      Like

    2. ja, i have no idea about that part… was still thinking damn, it’s finished already?? my absolute perfect kind of evening! in *all* aspects! (ok, a bit of actor at the beginning.. could have subbed a soprano/mezzo/contralto)

      Like

      1. Next week might be trickier – Saturday night, I have live concert plans. Perhaps Sunday, though I was thinking of catching the TADW Hamlet in standing room.

        >

        Like

          1. oh i didn’t see your response before replying earlier.. if it’s too tight perhaps we have to bypass the week? i have meeting through the whole week except frid and the weekend.

            Like

          2. yes, I am sorry- it seems that just the week Mitridate comes out again, we will have to postpone. I’m only free on Sunday, which does not work for Agathe. The week after that looks better on my end, though – I think I am only booked on the 23rd.

            Like

          3. I vote for a joined rewatch! I just caught the alerts on various sites (EH, MP….) and am so up for this! (I could manage tomorrow or Wednesday evening, or Tuesday during the day… but I guess you are pretty much conferencing around the clock at the moment?)

            Like

          4. yes, sadly.. monday-thur all occupied… i guess we could keep it for week after this, then after that the other Mozart? because my telecon of next fri got moved to next next monday, entire week that week is also gone until at least frid.. (unless we have a holiday somewhere..)

            Like

          1. I just realized we are old since we have cheered for Steffi Graf through her early successes. The Cougar moments are piling up…!

            Like

          2. Actually I can’t remember having cheered for her, so I guess, either I’m a tiny bit younger or just not interested enough in tennis (always preferred soccer).
            Had to think about you being caught in the playground ropes today when I was challenged by the kids to a climbing competition (but I don’t like loosing against my husband, so it’s probably muscle ache tomorrow) .

            Like

          3. so you won? Go, Agathe!! Team White Shirts!
            (I think Steffi Graf when happened, it was hard to escape the footage – ARD/ZDF did Wimbledon in full, I think. Plus Becker… there was a lot of tennis.

            Like

          4. hey, Gerber said Steffi was her childhood idol and she grew up watching her! are you saying you’re older than 28?!😉
            (to be fair, i only “read” about Steffi Graf because there wasn’t that much coverage of tennis in Vietnam.. so i caught on pretty late, but i guess not late enough because she was still playing against Martina Navratilova! (oy, now my age is really revealed…, cougar you said?..)

            Like

      1. None, we don’t keep Carlsberg in the cellar😉 I was just worn out from chasing the Valkyries around a fantastic playground all afternoon. And I was the one ending up with the scraped knees because I am too tall and to heavy for “Ma! Get up here with me, Ma!” And then I got stuck in a tiny rope channel dangling 7 ft above ground. Not my finest moment.

        >

        Like

  4. Yes it’s brilliant. There is another production with partly the same team of Copenhagen festival of Ottone in Villa but for me it is more difficult to get into because of the strange circus staging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

