White Shirt Monday: Put Your Hands Up In The Air

WSM DiDonato BCN16

[…I’ll just leave this here. Joyce DiDonato (Romeo) in Bellini’s “I Capuleti e i Montecchi” (and in a white shirt by Lacroix), Barcelona 2016]

Once, many years ago, I was studying on the West Coast and I had a classmate – who described herself as “well, honey, so obviously femme”- with whom, one day over lunch, I talked about what physical traits we found attractive in women.

I don’t remember what I said (probably “brains” or a variant thereof, since I am obnoxious), but I still remember the first thing she said: “subtly muscled forearms”.

I don’t know what became of said classmate, but: M******, wherever you are, I had to think of you this morning.

Of course I couldn’t settle on just one capture. This following one is even better, I think, but I didn’t want to put masculinity linked to a gesture of aggressiveness on the front cover (for reasons that are linked to Wednesday).

WSM DiDonato BCN16 f.png

[…I’ll just leave this one here, too. – Joyce DiDonato (Romeo) in Bellini’s “I Capuleti e i Montecchi”, Barcelona 2016]

2 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: Put Your Hands Up In The Air”

Leave a Reply

