White Shirt Monday: Figuratively Speaking

miamiwhite

[“If you walk in here, you can never walk out again!” – So… give me one good reason why I should want to walk out again, if this is the dress code? – Delphine Galou (Speranza) in Monteverdi’s “Orfeo”, Lausanne 2016]

ARTE worked fast this weekend, the stream of the Oct. 7th live show is already up for watch on demand over at ARTE Concert.

And, fine, technically Speranza is not a trouser role, but an allegory that may be somewhat more on the female side of the spectrum. But looking at that suit, I don’t think anyone will debate the white shirt credits here, right?

As far as Monteverdi goes, I also need Galou to sing another Penelope. And possibly the Combattimento. And Nerone (which may be a little on the high side). Or anything in Poppea, really – I’d be down with Seneca or any of the nurses. Also, with Orfeo themselves.

Naturally, I could not just settle of one shot of this particular version of Hope (and hope in general is something that we need on a larger scale this autumn).

[I remember that exact pose and a lot of that white on Yann Beuron in Pelly’s Belle Hélène staging. Somehow, I’d run off sooner with this version, destination underworld notwithstanding. – Delphine Galou (Speranza) in Monteverdi’s “Orfeo”, Lausanne 2016]

[If truly trying to dissuade people from entering the underworld: probably not your best tactic. – Delphine Galou (Speranza) in Monteverdi’s “Orfeo”, Lausanne 2016]

[This is the exact moment of the famed “Lasciate ogni speranza, voi ch’entrate” (Abandon all hope, ye who enter) – uhm, das that include the allegory of Hope? Or can we keep this one? – Delphine Galou (Speranza) in Monteverdi’s “Orfeo”, Lausanne 2016]

48 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: Figuratively Speaking”

  1. it would be so interesting if she sings Penelope in this gorgeous outfit!! (For Poppea perhaps Ottone fits her voice more? in this outfit too! and a twist of Nerone (sung by a certain soprano) ditching Poppea for Ottone.. and Poppea settles the score by taking Ottavia home. I can’t figure out what to do with Druisila, perhaps the valet will take her!)

    Like

    1. …I’m also in favor of the plot rewrite. If Drusilla/Valetto is the straightest thing on your list, you have done something right😉

      Like

      1. I’ve been thinking about this casting and crew:
        Galou for Ottone, Papatanasiu for Nerone, Antonacci for Ottavia (i have a soft spot for Ottavia’s music for some strange reason.. and from the various recitals i’ve heard of her singing “disprezzata regina” i’d love to hear her in this! this is the Ottavia i’d like to take home!) , Invernizzi for Drusilla, Spyres for Arnalta. I don’t know yet who to cast Poppea! the only person coming to mind is Ciofi, who’s also fantastic as Fortune (but i’ll take any of your suggestions).
        For the pit, please clear the way for E.Haïm and Le Concert d’Astrée (if that is somehow not possible, please have R.Jacobs and any of the outstanding baroque bands, Freiburger, Venice, Concerto Köln, among others)
        For staging, i don’t mind that Paris 2004 at TCE *at all*.
        How can we make this coming to life?!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. *applauding wildly* So… I guess we should start by winning the lottery? Would be an interesting blind of modern and early music voices for sure.

          >

          Like

    2. it would be so interesting if she sings Penelope in this gorgeous outfit!

      brilliant idea – the outfit will most likely deter all those annoying sycophantinc hanger-ons! Although the countertenor one could be recast as mezzo.

      Liked by 2 people

        1. well, I couldn’t be the only one to have wondered how this woman coped for 20 years with men clamouring about and no practical hope of her husband returning. At the same time she has a cute maid for “succour”😉 So I say we could write off Melanto’s man and go from there.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. YES😀

    (does your blog template have some sort of block whereby one can’t like a post/comment unless one is following you or something? Because I can’t seem to like anything unless someone in the comments has specifically replied to me. (shakes cane at newfangled technology) There is a very practical reason why I haven’t followed which is you’re a proper posting bot!).

    (I haven’t gone caps mad, it just so happened that two in a row “had to” contain them😉 )

    Like

    1. No, no blocking! I myself don’t see the like buttons on the page, only in the app (due to my ad blocker,.I believe), and sometimes replying acts up if one surpasses the Mac thread level of comments. But that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

      >

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, I’ve got those enabled, which is probably why many of you can leave comment likes, but it’s odd that it doesn’t show for dehggi. For me, it was a social media part of my ad-blocker, once I took that out, I could see the the comment like button, but not on all browsers, either. Really feels like a glitch.

            Like

          2. no, i was only able to “like” the comment if i use the reader mode. if i land on your official site the like button is not there, which is not the case for my blog where one can see the “like” button. However, independently, we also found out you must have wp to like, as Stray was not able to click it.

            Like

          3. It says somewhere in the small print that you need to be logged in to wordpress – but I did not get whether it was to enable the comment likes (now done, thanks to you!), or whether to use them, too?

            >

            Like

          4. ja, i think you have to log in. i still haven’t figured out how to comment w/o logging in.. i guess i can leave a fake email? b/c if i use my blog’s email then it forced me to log in.. anyhow, all is well on the “like” front! we’ll discuss another day about the “reply” system, ack!

            Like

          5. No, wait – there was one box I had not checked! I could swear it was not there thwo or theeeyears ago… THank you!! Let’s hope it works for everyone now.

            >

            Liked by 1 person

          6. …makes me remember I’ve been blogging for a little bit longer. I really need to revise tech bits now and then!

            >

            Like

        1. Likes and pingbacks are enabled on all posts – I always thought my adblocker was to blame for the rest, but that should not affect any of you.

          >

          Like

          1. i think there is a separate click for comment likes in addition to post likes? i remembered i had to enable them separately… wonder if it s related to the theme you use?

            Like

    1. all right! so basically all is fine on the “like” front for me now, though for liking posts I have to use either firefox or edge. For some reason chrome (the one I normally use) does not see the “like post” button.

      BUT! looks like in the past day I could not even comment, using either chrome or firefox. Finally I tried edge today and it seems to work.

      I will use this post to also say that I have listened to about 1hr of the above linked Orfeo and I’m not really feeling it. There’s something wrong with the tempi (way too languid for me, kills all the drama throughout that hour – I drifted off during Possente spirto) and the choir (too big?) and even the way Dantone wants them to sing Monteverdi. It sounds like late Baroque. Then again, I might be talking bollocks, but that’s how it seems to me. Another thing, the chap who sings Orfeo, his voice is too blunt imo, for this thing. Maybe it’s my speakers, maybe I just like a more crisp tone (I do – compare ACA’s Vi ricordo o boschi ombrosi with his).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. God, but if you bring out ACA, now that’s the really big guns!

        Sorry about the browser hassle. WP still needs to work on Integration there.

        >

        Like

        1. well, I feared I wouldn’t be able to contribute tomorrow… I’ll join in even if I might be a bit late.

          that’s the thing, isn’t it, once you hear a really good interpretation of a role it’s hard not to hark back to it.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes – I try to keep an open mind and sometimes, I surprise myself (I thought I was done with Mitridate after the Salzburg 2006. Turns out, not so much). But there are cases where I don’t think I’ll ever be able to move past a certain take.

            Like

        2. I’ve just dropped a comment to Frederico Ferri’s post on ACA’s fb fansite asking if there’s a chance he’d conduct with ACA singing the title role in Orfeo (he’s the musical director for Accademia degli Astrusi and can be seen on tube conducting ACA ‘s Dido)

          Like

      2. jeah, as soon as music for “Vi ricordo o boschi ombrosi” came up i thought oh where s ACA?!
        you can also start after intermission😉
        the whole thing sounds more mellow to me compare to that robust take i heard w Jordi (sp?) , the one in Spain with Mingardo as the messenger. i have to admit this is the portion of Monteverdi’s trio i know the least. and we all would know line by line if ACA sings!!

        Like

        1. Yes, I got to the intermission and beyond, it was good but short enough. Eventually I went to sleep.

          But that “Vi ricordo” made me listen to others, just to get different ways of doing it and I’m in the process of writing a post about it because what I found was surprising enough for me.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

