Liveblogging Mozart’s “La clemenza di Tito” (Salzburg 2003) on Sunday

ws-et-origines

[formative moments of WhiteShirtery: Vesselina Kasarova (Sesto) in Mozart’s “La clemenza di Tito”, Salzburg 2003]

It’s arguably THE Tito of the 2000s so far, and, not arguably, a core Kasarova performance, which also is in no small amount responsible for the coinign of the term “White Shirt” in our context.
On the liveblog menu this Sunday, Jan. 22nd, at 9:30 (!) p.m. (UTC+1) is Mozart’s “La clemenza di Tito” from the 2003 Salzburg Festival.

But there is so much more: Harnoncourt! Röschmann! Barbara Bonney! Garanča! Michael Schade und Luca Pisaroni!

The production is out on DVD, which most of us likely own, but there is also an online safety repository on YT that is quite easy to find in a search (not the Magic Channel this time. If you need the exact link, we’ll publish it before the party starts on Sunday – not posting here now to protect the source).

 WS company poster.png

[As if I would pass up on the opportunity to post another one of these. – Vesselina Kasarova (Sesto) and Dorothea Röschmann (Vitellia) in Mozart’s “La clemenza di Tito”, Salzburg 2003]

24 thoughts on “Liveblogging Mozart’s “La clemenza di Tito” (Salzburg 2003) on Sunday”

  1. I won’t be able to join you Sunday (new baby visits continue), but thanks for the heads up – I’ll search it out on YT another time. I must admit, I have only seen one Kasarova recording – Gluck’s Orfeo – way back when I started following for the opera instead of fiction, so I’m excited to watch her again now that I’ve been working out my opera ears.

    Like

      1. The visits are okay (especially now that the holidays are over), but we have forgotten what sentences are, so it’s probably worse for the visitors. Boy was the nugget mad last night, though. He was obviously too angry about the inauguration to go to sleep.

        Like

  2. this liveblog is like a happy little flag waving on the horizon of getting-through-the-next-two-days-land. please send more caps (and/or prayers if that’s your sort of thing) for survival purposes between now and then.

    will be in need of magical linkage once the time comes.

    oh god. i can’t wait.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. check your inbox. 🙂

      also, I would say ‘pleade don’t do anything stupid’, but it’s probably more ‘don’t let them catch you while doing something smart’. Stay safe!

      Like

    1. The “white-shirt” poster in above comment i actually have in extremely high res, probably Purity’s co-production with you Anik? Will hang up my wall-poster in time for sunday, after marching with swagger tomorrow. meanwhile, here’s Dehggi’s request. and am putting out an additional call for a higher res version for the poster-printing quality from this crowd

      Liked by 2 people

      1. oh, that was ALL Purity. I merely squaled in delight.

        The DVD is pre-HD era, but I’ll try to do my capping best come Sunday!

        Like

      1. ok – but we can hook you up with the YT link, too? (actually, it’s the first hit if you google clemenza di tito inside YT)

        Like

  3. Hey gang! Just checking in from howling (windy) San Diego. 🙂 I’m afraid I’m in and out… still trying to dry out my friend/host’s flooded garage/sound-room ahead of the incoming rain. Have the show on my mp3 player, though. Happy time in my ears!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks a bunch for hosting this, Anik! And thanks very much to Dr T for alerting me a few days ago, too. I’ve been quite out of the loop for a long while. 😀 What a great idea this is, re-viewing my favorite DVD of La clemenza di Tito. It sure is warming up the day nicely (and I’m just starting on the Sesto/Vitellia duet)!

        Like

Leave a Reply

