Cornelio Lucio Silla (5)

Prina’s Silla trying to seduce all the ladies backed up by lute and recorder and getting none: not very realistic. (we would have had  to carry Agathe off the stage, I guess – so very good!) I strongly oppose all toxic masculinity except perhaps when sung by Prina?!

Genaux & Invernizzi duetting are pure sonic bliss. *sigh*

The hall is micced to the teeth, I hope that means radio broadcast or CD release. Pretty please, Gods of Baroque!

Act 2 was musically even better than Act 1. Now into the final 3rd…

51 thoughts on “Cornelio Lucio Silla (5)”

    1. Oh please tell me you taped this, then – I need to get back to that second act duet until the cows come home and then some.

      >

      Like

        1. Duchess, I know I am repeating myself, but you are the best. Possibly, also a fairy godmother? (Which brings me back to Cendrillon for next week, hmm…)

          >

          Like

  1. Arghhh, criteria for the toxic masculinity bonus are really needed. (does “my working-out white shirt friends could carry her” count? I trust you with that one)
    Radio Broadcast, please, (I also secretly hope for Biondi to return to Musikfest this summer)

    Like

    1. in this case, it would probably be “could carry my working-out white-shirt friends” because I would guess that Prina could lift both me and thadieu, possibly at the same time.

      (my times of carrying around adult people pretty much has been swapped out for carrying around people of the pre-school set.)
      (Though I recall that when I got married, I actually still was trained enough to carry my wife across the threshold in the evening, to which she said – because she is pretty much perfect -, “Stop it it with the patronizing patriarchal nonsense and set me down right now, or this will have been a very, very short marriage.”)
      (So no more lifting people, but I’m still happily married)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. only after reading the synopsis
      (what actually happens is [smooth pickupline] [compliments]
      to be followed be [“oh, let’s not talk about the fact that we’re both married to toehr people.”]
      and then
      [Get rid of your husband, I want to marry you”, or “I will kill your boyfriend so he won’t get in my way.”])

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Silla (Prina) is a dictator warlord chasing skirts, neglecting his wife and threatening everyone getting in his way with violence.

          >

          Like

          1. How charming! (actually noted, this is among the first google hits when you type in “Cornelio Lucio Silla, please be quick with your official review to distract attention from undignified fangirling).

            Liked by 2 people

            1. …it is?
              oops.
              UUuuuhhh…. yes, perhaps not the most distinctive of our discussions on display here, true. I will hurry with the review! (End of month and incoming end of semester at work, so lots of exam grading, all of which not really conducive to writing reviews)

              Like

            2. I know, same with workload here. Have not emerged from acute duet addiction yet, as if I had needed more reasons for ever-growing Invernizzi admiration….

              Like

            3. and i’m *gluing” to the screen 15min afterward! she gets another really niiiiice aria, and really, takes all your attention! (and i found my distraction… i have to avoid reading the news, sigh, in order to just work.. but hopefully will join the next wave of resistance soon somewhere..)

              Like

            4. she completely outdoes the swirling, despite the dramatic blowdrying in the background! (I’ve got the tab hidden and kept the music)

              Liked by 1 person

            5. Thank you for linking, perfect for my lunch break! Apart from superb Invernizzi, the staging also has high entertainment value along the lines of our ACA Don Giovanni, did you see Argante’s stag costume?

              Liked by 1 person

            6. redeeming point of Pizzi (just about the only one for me): even the straights look like Lesbian Goddesses on Mt. Olympus in some 1960s Steve Reeves movie.

              (I would call this “Artemis asking Athena out on a date”)

              Liked by 1 person

            7. oh, I did enjoy my fair share of Steve Reeves movies way back when. Of course, it was never actually about Steve Reeves for me. 🙂

              my focus was always a bit more like this (this is a Matthias Baus shot from the 2013 Mozart “Silla” (Scala and Salzburg, I think?):

              (I would look at this and ask “tenor? What tenor?” while probably not noticing much beyond Peretyatko and Crébassa. actually-… how about that one for our Saturday list?)

              Like

            8. you mean there is someone else in the photo? Oh, right, Inga Kalna…

              (this could be the bi/poly/lesbian Rohrschach test. I think I just failed it?)

              Like

            9. …evaluation of test results always depends on the context 🙂
              OMG, just googled Steve Reeves, you’ve got to be kidding!? I mean I knew you were into muscles, but….

              Like

            10. 😀
              oh no, that was way before I ever even thought I would ever lift a dumbbell! I was really just a nerd for Greek/Roman mythology, and Reeves movies were on at times during weekend mornings when my parents were out and I could sneak down to watch some TV.
              I only found out much later that Reeves was kind of a camp icon for the gay male community. I never really paid that much attention to him and always waited for the cute goddess or two to appear, hoping they would make eyes at each other.

              Like

            11. Interesting, I had no idea. Hihi, watched the first few minutes of Hercules and think I get the general vibe.
              Did I understand correctly you have Silla on file? And you might be willing to share with someone who will really value it, if that’s OK with ff? I keep having trouble with the steaming and didn’t manage to record it in full, yet.

              Liked by 1 person

            12. …stag?!!
              (damn, now I need to open the tab again. This would be a fun one to comment over a bottle of champagne on a Saturday night…)

              Like

        1. ah… so there was no “r” missing?
          Well, yes, that was definitely an issue!

          (the Silla is on 7-day-replay and the replay was not cooperative today at the office (both mine and Agathe’s))

          Like

      1. i don’t encounter any problem right now with streaming, and just heard V.Genaux’s german interview at first intermission ❤ , not that i can understand, but hey, a deep-voiced American mezzo fluent in english, german, italian, french, spanish… And here's Biondi's interview in english.

        check your email for clip in case you haven't managed to secure a copy, along with sniffing techniques 😉 (i think, let's see if i'm successful..)

        Like

        1. Got your tech email, thank you for typing all that up!

          Am still in Act 2 of my Silla notes, if we’re sufficiently drunk tonight, we can translate the interview for you.

          >

          Like

Leave a Reply

