Liveblogging Handel’s “Agrippina” (Brussels 2000) on Saturday

commentary aggripina.png

[“And then they elected… wait, WHAT?!” – “I know, girl. I know.” – Narciso (Dominique Visse) and Anna Caterina Antonacci (Agrippina) in Handel’s “Agrippina”, Brussels 2000.]

Continuing the current mood of “sopranos (and mezzos) setting things on fire”, we return to Handel for the next liveblog, with the 2000 Brussels “Agrippina” featuring Antonacci in the title role and Ernman as Nerone, on Saturday, Feb. 4th, at 9 p.m. (UTC+1).

The production is available online thanks to jovi1715 and can be accessed via thadieu’s handy playlist.

 

13 thoughts on “Liveblogging Handel’s “Agrippina” (Brussels 2000) on Saturday”

  1. “Agrippina” Anik, not quite Alcina (in the text, though i’d clear my entire year schedule if ACA is in any Alcina! and since we’re in dream world now, i’ll volunteer MP as Alcina, and ACA as Ruggiero!)

    Like

    1. Too much of the same energy, perhaps? But that would be excellent acting and reacting off each other!!

      Thanks for catching my error – yes, we know what I was thinking about!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, when McVicar was still doing interesting things! You get the live deal, not a bad position – I hope it’ll work out again some other time!

      >

      Like

    1. We can simply pass the time protesting until then! And I should get back to my Silla review, the notes of which are still waiting to be turned into a post.

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw some clips of this production a few years ago, and I loved them! Not too Regie at all! 🙂 But I couldn’t find the full opera anywhere that time, and I had already given up the hope of ever seeing it.

    Like

  3. At the beginning of this week I was secretly hoping for a Saturday live blog, and now I have a meeting right at the same time!! If it finishes up early I’ll try to log on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

