White Skirt Wednesday: The answer is 42, or mezzo/soprano duetting

[Is this the British reaction clip of the day regarding Article 50? Is this the convening of the coven at the news of yet more cis-het casting? Or is it solemn vows that would only need a seal of champagne? – Alexandra Deshorties (Elisabetta) and Ilse Eerens (Matilda) in Rossini’s “Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra”, Vienna/TADW 2017. – with thanks for the alert to @sestoinfedele on Twitter (he tagged it “well that sure looks very straight” and I don’t really have anything to add to that)]

Yes, I know they’re both sopranos, but in my defense, Elisabetta was written for Colbran who was at the most a soprano sfogato, so sue me for the mezzo tag.

Or you could take a moment to take rejoice in the small break from cis-casting and rejoice in the fact that in addition to some f/f duetting (and negligés, because that is how I receive all my nemeses and by nemeses I mean please undress me with your singing and also, champagne), the recent TADW production did feature an actual mezzo in an actual trouser role – Natalia Kawalek as Enrico:

ElsbttaTADW17.jpg

[See, you can even put the soprano in a suit for a while, and the world does not end (though it looks infintely better for that very while): Also, who at the TADW Costume Department did raid my closet because I swear that is my duck hunting outfit? Ilse Eerens (Matilda), Natalia Kawalek (Enrico) and Norman Reinhart (Leicester) in Rossini’s “Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra”, Vienna/TADW 2017. – Photo Credit: Herwig Prammer, for TADW]

2 thoughts on “White Skirt Wednesday: The answer is 42, or mezzo/soprano duetting”

Leave a Reply

