White Shirt Monday: Simple Things

[Quite possibly a set-up one could be cuffed to: Marysol Schalit (Simplicius) in Hartmann’s “Simplicius Simplicissimus”, staged by Tatjana Gürbaca, Bremen 2017.]

My Musikfest Bremen contacts (haaa, Gauvin “Clemenza”, I will be there no matter the Sesto!) have kindly sent me the last issue of “foyer”, which (if I understand correctly) is a journal on art events in Northwestern Germany that is privately run and not property of some music industry outlet or other. It also seems to have good taste in choosing their cover images (full cover below, just because I can).

Schalit, a lyric soprano, has been with the Bremer Theater for a few seasons and is getting extra spotlight this season in this production of the unfortunately-all-to-up-to-date again (class wars and privileged abuse and their wrecking havoc on humanness, set in the religious wars of the Eurpean 17th century) “Simplicissimus” by Hartmann, a 20th centruy repertory margin entry that makes it into most bigger guides, but it not produced all that often. — In between the plot in our times and the white shirt, it is clearly an opera that should be done on a more regular basis.

simplicissimus 2.jpg

144 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: Simple Things”

  1. Looks interesting, unfortunately I was not capable to find out from their website whether it will be played again. Maybe I should try again after coffee.

    Like

    1. I’ll have to ask my friends to sent me the magazine. since it’s off-path, it might not get back onto the schedule for next season, but the production seems to have been really well received.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. and since it is that time of the year again and I don’t know about you, but I could use some happy news, too:

      (another reason to love Vienna. Flagged on all tram cars since Monday, all through Pride in June. Every year. ❤ )

      Liked by 3 people

          1. yes, let us go with that!

            (i was digging hard for more A. Hallenberg.. she sang so many with only radio broadcast, sadly.. she sang Juditha too of course.. as you say, we might settle for even concert version..)

            Like

          2. (but you’re aware of the concert version with A. Hallenberg as Ariodante ? and Abrahamyan as Polinesso? there was a full broadcast of it, i think i have, from the Enescu festival some years back..)

            Like

          3. yes, whole video. Alan Curtis was music director. i think it’s his band too. That was the first Ariodante i saw! then A.Hallenberg’s dvd version, then VK+Mingardo’s puppet show, then Aix, then the marsh+jaw Ariodante in London.. then Carnegie Hall.

            Liked by 1 person

          4. of which one? the Enescu? sound is pretty good. I think whatever available on tube now might be degraded in sound? let me dig up my version. I’m *very* sure Dehggi also has a copy stashed away.

            Liked by 1 person

          5. Oh, I thought we were talking about THE (recent) Ariodante. But version with Hallenberg and Bicket also sounds very good!

            Like

          6. Bicket? I have 2 Hallenberg + A.Curtis, send you both the version from Enescu in a minute.. (i was sweating there, thinking Dehggi would question my Ariodante+Hallenberg credential if i have to come to her for a copy 😉 ).
            I also have a radio broadcast of A.Hallenberg and Sardelli, look at this roster! (and a mysterious Polinesso! now i have to listen… but please, check out Dalinda!!)
            Ariodante, un prÌncipe: Ann Hallenberg, mezzosoprano
            Ginevra, hija del rey de Escocia: Karina Gauvin, soprano
            Dalinda, dama noble de la corte: YaÎl Azzaretti, soprano
            Lurcanio, hermano deAriodante: Andrew Kennedy, tenor
            Rey de Escocia: Sergio Foresti, bajo

            Liked by 1 person

          7. re: WS apps and algorithms, my mind goes to needing Hermione Granger to cast a spell on this site (perhaps all of ours) that if someone lifts our work they break out with a rash that spells “plagiarist” all over their face. that doesn’t go away.

            Liked by 2 people

  2. Also, why was I not aware that there was a staged version of Siroe with Nesi going on?

    (which reminds me that I still need to finish my “Germanico” review – well, the good thing with writing about concerts months after the fact is that no one should be interested in plagiarizing the review).

    Liked by 2 people

          1. I have students who try hard for this, including flowing cardigans — I should point them to this!

            Like

          2. yes! And she sounds/looks like she is having a blast, too.
            (really need to finish those two reviews – next week, I hope!)

            Liked by 1 person

          3. (i feel really bad experiencing her singing Penelope in a way i couldn’t handle.. I don’t know what it was.. but as i wrote and what Stray suspected: there was not enough rehearsal time so everyone was on their own in musical phrasing.. and i think it was her BEMF debut and she pushed a bit much .. and you know for the role Penelope, i think one has to take it a little bit internal instead of pouring out buckets of tears at every line… even in the BEMF broadcast she sounds different than how i heard her…)

            speaking of her, didn’t you say her Ulisse with Jacobs was on bbc3?

            Like

          4. (so, inspect element, then search for mp3 , then copy and paste them, either to vlc or to browser, sometimes, it plays the whole thing, like here, sometimes only a small chunk, then you have to fiddle a bit more..)

            Liked by 1 person

          5. I couldn’t get it to work via BBC3 – usually, the DL Helper picks it up, but it didn’t budge. But I got the NPO link from a kind fellow Twitterer.

            Like

          6. (ps3- and you get to “inspect element” by first right click on the page)

            bbc3 , or several other sites, hide the file even deeper.. so i’m playing with the “whiteshark” to learn to sniff out some stuff… still not quite successful.. but when do, will send email to you so you can try with ffmpeg..

            Like

          7. I never use inspect element for mp3, usually only to sniff out video (which I then promptly lose when it’s rmtp dump territory) – I will remember it!

            Like

          8. ja, the key here is you get the source, m3u, mp3, m3u8 for vid. then we can “stream” live to our computer via vlc , ffmpeg, mplayer, or even wget…

            Like

          9. (also, i sent an email a LONG time ago , in jan perhaps? on how to do it, also for Ö1 radio, i think it might work for bbc3 too. but similar to what i just wrote here as well, with some more fiddling. that email was for V.Genaux concert’s broadcast in Wien I think).

            Liked by 1 person

          10. (I know we are frustratingly slow in incorporating your advice and knowledge longterm in a more self-employed manner… *sigh* will attempt to do better!)

            Like

          11. no no, don’t sweat. i haven’t emailed you and Agathe b/c i haven’t gotten it to work yet… I got some leads from S_ROTONDO but the website she mentioned, i googled and read warnings on spyware and malwares.., so i took another route, with wireshark, which is another serious beast.. and the most success i had was a 5sec clip of ACA’s La Voix Humaine 😀 , not the entire thing.. but once i sort it out, we’ll have the corporate try-out.

            Liked by 1 person

          12. yes, easy download, right from site, using dl helper. but before that i also captured. so now have 2 versions. i hope you like that screen cap i took 😉

            Like

          13. Of course!

            I had issues with DL Helper when I tried, but it’s probably my aging computer, not RAI. Will try again later.

            >

            Like

          14. Yes, promised! The problem is, if you don’t safe the advice away immediately you have practically zero chance of finding a certain comment again, amongst all the posts and comments.

            Liked by 1 person

          15. true, these days we comment a lot, and searching only works when you know the exact post. (problems I never thought this space would have)

            Liked by 2 people

          16. Ehm, (blush), I made an attempt but did not get any further than wondering which version of Ubuntu I have, it asks me all the time to upgrade, so I guess I would have to do that first, can I just do that without loosing my files?

            Like

          17. hoho, it’s installing! I have version 14.04, so ffmpeg is apparently not officially available for that version, but some guy has put an instruction on the web and it seems to work. Now I just hve to find out how to use it…

            Liked by 1 person

          18. check my ffmpeg tutorial, nxt to ze gif bar!! i am so happy the whiteshirt is now all running ffmpeg!! when i am at the office i will send u something i sent Dehggi last nite, instruction to make Prina polinesso gif!

            Liked by 1 person

          19. Will do! Thanks for pushing me, I had thought it would be much more complicated when struggling already with step one, but the version info was really all I needed. (but I’m sure more questions will arise on using it)

            Liked by 1 person

          20. ah, Penelope is that Bradamante with wrap in that hetero Aix Alcina! i was enjoying her singing until the last bit when they had her switching to the red dress…
            (i’m curious how Bridelli sings this role. to me it’s a very difficult role to sing, because you can’t just sing the notes but have to express the mood.. and Penelope’s mood is not easy to carry through)

            Liked by 1 person

          21. Yes, Penelope is tough, you need an edge and that kind of slow-burn conviction (reverse pining?!).
            Either way, we will know tonight 🙂 broadcast starts at 9:03, UTC+2

            Liked by 1 person

          22. great, i’ll hopefully see you there, if you’re listening in! (i will too!)
            This is the site if you want direct link (the one where vlc will take directly). I’ll try to see if i can find the same for A.Hallenberg’s concert, as it is broadcasting at the same time.

            Like

          23. No, it was 3 weeks ago, but the broadcast that recording tonight and put it up as stream on demand afterwards.

            >

            Like

          24. i wonder how much of it is a specific style.. because Melanto is also “crying”, but not throughout as Ulisse. And Galli is… i don’t know if i’m listening on a wrong afternoon.. but i somehow lose patience quickly when everyone was like this.. (i think i’m short on temper..)

            but back quickly to Bridelli: right at the beginning i’d say it sits just a bit low for her. Then she’s more in her comfort zone. She’s not “crying” which i’m very happy with.. though as we have mentioned before, it’s more true here because the lamentation is extensively long, i think she sings the whole thing in nearly 1 volume. There’s a feeling of “rush” to some part of it, which i think is the case when one sings every word in singing speech format; you don’t feel a “pause”, a “ponder”, a “contemplation”, prolonged thoughts, then rush when intended…
            🙂

            (ah, she’s back again, Penelope. Yes, i’m very happy here, as with Nerone, that she’s singing without “crying” . Nice strettttching of the notes now.. still with 1 volume, but more phrasing.)

            Like

          25. (Telemanco, not Melanto)
            but everyone sounds better to me in 2nd Act.
            Bridelli: she has a VERY distinctive voice, i really love! the color, it stands out and is quite full. You can hear the difference between her “content” and the CT’s (i think it’s again the same CT for Ottone) quite well in warmth and volume.
            She’s back to her wonderful phrasing very nicely in this act.

            Like

          26. me again, to say she has a very nice “ping” on top of her warm voice, would Roméo work for her? with a thinner orchestra, such as the one V.Genaux sang with? this 2nd Act is really lovely to hear from her.

            Like

          27. “Anik and thadieu, dreamcasting all their ponytail favs as Romeo”:

            Definitely. Out of curiosity and to see how her tone fares with a big orcehstra, I’d love to get an impression of her Verdi/Bizet B-parts, but I find Romeo within reach.

            Liked by 1 person

          28. Nice!

            I would expect it to be on the low side for her, as it is for any mezzo. It was the same with Bradic, who has a really, dark color – the 82% cocoa in your cholocate kind – but is still a mezzo, so tessitura was a bit at odds.

            Waiting impatiently for this to show up at the Download page of Schwetzinger Festspiele.

            Like

          29. that would be GREAT, thank you!

            (I am wearing out the SWR” homepage with my F5ing as it is)

            Like

          30. (oh, there’s a replay? i came in late, missed it by 1 hr.. their time listing was confusing.. or my time conversion was confusing… but i jumped in at minute 38 and got the most gooooooogeous piece of singing from A.Hallenberg)

            Liked by 1 person

          31. It sounds like Essen was worth the trip 😉
            Are they really touring with the same program again next year? And at Elbphilharmonie?

            Like

          1. that is the Agathe Mod for mezzos – we need to run them through a Polinesso filter to put them on her radar 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Hehe, but seriously, I’ve been wondering about it for quite a while, how can a piece of clothing matter that much, I’m really so shallow in that regard. It must have to do with stance and body language also changing when someone wears a dress.

            Liked by 2 people

          3. Shallow in some way, perhaps, but I would also say not shallow at all in another. it’s exactly that kind of performativity that can move beyond boundaries, at least in representation (at times also beyond) and queer people may feel a stronger echo of that due to their specific set of experiences, but even apart from that, I think a well-worn shirt can be a very intelligent discussion and dismantling of gender and its limits.

            Liked by 3 people

          4. So, a good thing we have so many of those intelligent discussions about the shirt 😀
            No, but what you say makes sense of course, and I also think, in opera we do not see and get to know a real person, and that may be why outer representation matters so much there.

            Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh, I hadn’t realized there was a hashtag involved. Heh. Well, there should be more in that tag, anyway (also, it still stands because I am certainly not over it).

            >

            Liked by 1 person

      1. OOHH, so it will hopefully be on replay?? I am also already thinking about catching it again at Elbpilharmonie next year, it really was quite an experience.
        (Hello, I’m back, a bit brainwashed after JDD and two days of family/kids party, so now relaxing with your approx. 300 comments in my inbox…)

        Liked by 2 people

        1. so far, it is only announced on the French version of ARTE? But it should be on replay (Yay. Though it will not measure up to that particular live experience)
          Good to see you back, Agathe. I take it you enjoyed the concert?

          Like

          1. Yes, very much so, and I agree, for this one, I think it lives very much from the immediate live experience, I had not expected it would make such an impression, quite intense.

            Like

          2. it seems you went in with a similar mindset as I did, and came out also a lot like i did, more impressed that initially assumed? It is an intense evening, really.

            Like

          3. It really was, and I went in rather stressed, thinking, “Oh no maybe the effort was not worth it because you have to much other things on your mind to enjoy the concert” but then got taken over very quickly. So was the audience I guess, who was rather on the noisy, coughing side at first and then grew quiet and concentrated, which was especially apparent during the Gesualdo (wow, the strings there). And, as you described in your post, everyone was helplessly charmed by Augelletti (the only way that could have become any better would be a continuation of scene with a certain knight). While I’m a huge fan of JDDs technical brilliancy, I think in total I was even more impressed by her more quiet parts in that concert, and they may be that touchingly delivered because the “having to impress” factor is not existent here, this is really only about the music and underlying content, and nothing else. “Morgen” was from another world, there is no other way to put it. I also loved how JDD presented everything as a team work, quite often stepping back to let the ensemble shine.
            (And, to get back to the shallow side, is it really possible we watched the same concert and you did not once mention ẟ in your review?)

            Liked by 3 people

          4. I remember editing out the shoulders because I was trying to focus on the serious aspects of the concerts, but I remember thinking it more than once during the concert.

            I am absurdly happy that your experience (also following an initial skepticism, just as in my case) was a good one that you also share the impressions on Il Pomo d’Oro. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          5. …also I think I still have a half-phrase of her looking better than ever in there. And a reference to THE HAIR!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

