White Skirt Wednesday: Contralto Liveblog upcoming?

cenerentola_iervolino.jpg[It seems that Culturebox still loves us, since the Iervolino “Cenerentola” from Paris will be available on demand “soon” according to their treasure trove of a website – contraltos and Cinderella class discussion for a night in, anyone?]

PS. Also prochainement on Culturebox; the complete conducted-and-also-staged-by-Gariner Monteverdi trias, the “Poppea” of which will be dubbed the “what, you didn’t manage to cast Ottavia with a CT, as well?” Poppea.

[]soniaprinacalledshewantshercoifback.jpg

[Kangmin Justin Kim (Nerone), JE Gardiner, Hana Blažíková (Poppea, and also Drusilla, which is making a lot of sense for Ottone’s choices, and which also prevents us from having hire more women), in Monteverdi’s “L’incoronazione di Poppea”; Venice 2017. – Photo Credit: Michele Crosera]

(Also, Sonia Prina called. She wants her swagger coif back.)

85 thoughts on “White Skirt Wednesday: Contralto Liveblog upcoming?”

  1. Great news!!! And there’s a trailer now, very short, but it continues to look interesting reg. character interpretation (<3 Iervolino, and who is the guy with the beard, he gives me Polinesso vibes)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. (ps- did this go through today? wed are always hard b/c i have a meeting at 2pm… this weekend i’m on travel.. so perhaps we could meet next week or if you two have something i might not be keeling over for you could cover? 🙂 . But i’d like to be present for T.Iervolino’s deep voice in Cenerentola! )

    Like

    1. I’m in between taxes and grading, too, and the kids fall asleep very late these days between the heatwave and the long nights, so perhaps nothing this week, and next weekend we could do the Cenerentola, before Agathe and I leave for vacation?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, good timing, because I need to mentally prepare for Tancredi anyway this Sat. And I can do next week, so hopefully the Cenerentola will be available? So looking forward to it (and funnily, Iervolino seems to overcome my dress aversion, more “data” for our project).

        Liked by 2 people

        1. by mentally preparing, you mean stocking up smelling salts and watching clips until you pass out…?
          (yes, I hope Cenerentola will be available by next weekend – I have been thinking about the dress quesiton, too, but I think it may, at least for me, link back again to subvertignt eh pricness trope and channeling power and agency?)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. no, just log nights and too little coffee…? And the heat?
            Aporpos, I am preparing the next WSM right now and you will instantly recognize what I mean, more than anyone. 😉

            Like

          2. (waiting… i am procrastinating (re)writing that 1500 word report… just done major revision of that other 1500-word paper.. and happy so far with SMingardo’s Polinesso pix from your post last week… that outfit and the legs really make it look like Polinesso is a biiiiiig bird, i really like….
            and then i migrated down further to the Ottone in fatigues photo… procrastination has its perks

            Liked by 1 person

          3. LOL! But supertight princess dresses wouldn’t fit the scheme for me…
            Damn, I must not get distracted, need to justify Tancredi trip by finally finishing talk preparation.

            Liked by 2 people

          4. Yes, every place would be wonderful with Barcellona in it!
            Actually, Austria is on the list, talk set up for first December weekend, so what do you think about Lulu that Sunday? (but it’s 1st Advent, so I understand if oyu want to stay with the family…).

            Like

          5. my mother-in-law might be visiting, I would have to look that up, but I’d do standing room either way, much cheaper, so it could be on short notice. But I’ll write down the weekend!

            Liked by 1 person

          6. (which weekend are you referring to? i’m a bit confused now as i see we’re talking on 2 separate posts.. the “reply to the orange dot” makes criss-crossing possible of course to add to the confusion…)

            Like

          7. Oh no, that’s something else, possible Vienna opera meet-up in December, the Cenerentola plan for July 1st is fixed! (I just hope it is downloadable because I’ll be on mobile WiFi again)

            Like

          8. (ps- are you seeing Tancredi before your presentation? during your presentation? after your presentation? during that Zürich trip, they conveniently arranged my poster session (in Davos) just 2,5hour before the opera in Zürich! i was sprinting across the entire Switzerland to make it to the haus 15min late..)

            Liked by 1 person

          9. Ehem, both, before and after…. But “before” luckily is two nights before (of course I have to visit the whole conference, so many interesting talks…), so I have time to recover and cool down.
            Love the Zurich abstract story!

            Like

          10. Looks like the problem will rather be preparing your conference talk! These distractions! From all the interesting talks!!

            >

            Liked by 1 person

          11. But I saw there is a large garden area between conference venue and opera house, perfect for people walking their cute little dogs, so maybe I can relax there between talks…

            Liked by 1 person

          12. giggle.
            I remember my first trip ever to Vienna (when somebody first said: hmm, we have done the work, but we need somebody to present, and i saw VK was singing there twice…) i went to the conference, put up the poster, then spent the rest of the week lining up in the standing-ticket queue…

            Liked by 3 people

          13. after your trip i’ll send you the link of that trip where i documented things in details 😉 , but Zürich opernhaus is quite reasonable, not like in Germany where they’re very adamant when you’re late 😉 , there luckily they let me in (to the royal box!!!) as soon as VK stopped waving the fire-place-stick, so i missed essentially only the first 20min, still was there for full VK and N.Stemme being tender to each other *just* under me (that was the time i extended self waaaay outside the royal box to see them just below, such that a VK fan on the opposite side of the haus *recognized* i must be the blogger who was drooling over VK on my various internet posts 😉 )

            Liked by 1 person

        2. Ladies, I need help, severe outburst of ICS, with no signs of improvement in the near future. I actually got a Twitter account just to tell DB how much I loved her performance, because I found the amount and length of applause in Valencia not quite enthusiastic enough to match her brilliancy and thought she needed to get back more from the audience when giving so much herself (and she sent me a ‘like’, right during the interval of yesterday’s performance :-)).

          Liked by 2 people

          1. welcome to Twitter, where one can often offer more direct applause and feedback 🙂 Then again, we may never again get you to float doown from the ceiling toward ground level again..

            Liked by 1 person

          2. (i’m quite pissed there’s zero coverage of that here in the US.. and strangely many of my German friends are not posting anything related on their fb feed either…)

            Like

          3. many of my international contacts are surprised that this wasn’t already a law – “Didn’t you allow that years ago?”

            Like

          4. but Spain is ahead, truly. You don’t even have to adopt your own children any longer if born into your marriage. I don’t see that happening in germany yet – big news today is that same-sex marriage can adopt jointly.

            Like

          5. Could be better. But would be much worse! My guess would be that quite a few of the conservatives also voted no bcause they disagreed with the suddenness and the disrespect for the coalition contract.

            Like

        1. magic channel just put up the Scala Abduction with Ruiten and Devieilhe, btw.!

          and yes, I hope the magic channel will get on it, but there is so much now, so I don’t know… *sigh* the CT Poppea is no geoblocked, of course.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. hehe.

            I was interested in it when it still had Romina Basso attached to it, but now… (there is even a female-cast Arnalta in this version. Is nothing sacred any longer?!)

            Like

      1. Hello there, just checked, it is geoblocked in Spain as well, too bad!
        Greetings from the currently best place to be, yesterday’s performance had most amazing singing, while the staging was more so so, but it gave singers enough room for great individual acting (and put everyone in rather attractive costumes). DB does not sound a year older than in the 2005 Florence version, just even more refined, even more nuanced, if that is even possible ❤ ❤ <3. And great acting by everyone, that death scene, I think the way it was staged wouldn't have worked for me this way with any other singer, but like this, sigh….

        Liked by 2 people

        1. We need more White Shirts in France, it seems. Or one of us has to go to France as long as this is up (checking conference schedule)…

          Thank you for your impression valencienne, are you still recovering in the gardens? How was the cave scene? What about the swagger quota for Di tanti palpiti? Can’t wait for details! – safe travels back home to you.

          >

          Like

          1. Hm, so I need to find WiFi on my flight stop-over on my way back, if I have enough time I will try.

            The cave scene took place in a darkish room with chairs if I remember correctly, not sure anymore, things seemed to get very condensed on DB’s singing, because how she did ‘Non sa comprendere il mio dolor’ has apparently blocked out everything else of that scene in my brain, like an anterograde amnesia. So I need to pay attention tomorrow to that 🙂
            The second duet came closer to „what is written in the music“ than the DVD, amazingly acted with quite an impressive „nearly kiss“ (which did make sense dramatically, so I don’t think it was avoidance by the director).
            Oh, and you see, I’m actually at talks at the moment, ehm, kind of listening….

            Liked by 2 people

          2. Anterograde amnesia or not, I still think you’d fare better with a quiz on Tancredi than on your conference…?

            Like

          3. “oh, you mean Tancredi first night, or Tancredi second night? Wait, I have slides…”

            Like

          4. Oh, and forgot Di tanti palpiti, the thing is, this was a more vulnerable, quieter Tancredi from the beginning on, so ‘Di tanti palpiti’ was really done more introspectively, which worked very well (with me at least). Not that she didn’t do some nice boasting (putting on gloves, choosing sword, testing sword) before the Orbazzano fight, poor guy, I’m sure he was singing his aria well, but, you know, ‘tunnel vision’.

            Liked by 2 people

          5. Oh, this sounds good, thank you for taking time off from your ‘interesting talks’ to reply! I’d probably get tunnel vision, too.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. yes, that was my first thought, too, upon seeing the headline.

      …how old does that make her for the 2015 Holofernes? 26??? I need a drink (also, I need that Cenerentola)

      Liked by 2 people

        1. Holofernes, Cenerentola, Italian contraltos, White Shirts. You are not ending up in suburban California! (programming tomorrow’s post early for you!)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. jeah, felt like trapped here… everytime i visit here i am glad i dont get stuck in this strange life.. there would be ZERO exposure to contralto/WS! (though to be fair i discovered VGenaux and within 2 weeks later your and Purity’s blogs while i was just 40km from here some 9 years ago!!)

            Like

          2. and I’ll always be most grateful to Genaux for that! (9 years ago, I had barely opened this joint…!)

            Like

          3. Feb 2008. we can through a 10-year-event next year! 😉
            – the amount of times I’ve checked the magic channel over the weekend is not very dignified.

            Liked by 2 people

          4. !!!!
            The 2018 autumn term is canceled, Prof. LaChev needs to conduct some urgent field research in the Veneto. The end.
            (Venice is pretty feasible, if dates align, probably easier to pull off than Geneva. Apart from the issue of “me alone going off on opera travels” not really fitting family mode)

            Liked by 2 people

  3. Did somebody say Cenerentola? Missed that as working in Zurich again last week – speaking of which, picked up the programme for next year……Oh la la ……

    Like

Leave a Reply

