Seria Spice

[Klingon wedding in progress? Did someone alert Lwaxana Troi? – Albina Shagamuritova (Aspasia), Salome Jicia (Sifare), Michael Spyres (Mitridate), Jennifer Davis (Arbate), Lucy Crowe (Ismene) and, in the background, Bejun Mehta (Farnace), in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, London/ROH 2017. – Photo Credit: Bill Cooper]

I see your Klingon Opera Wedding, ROH (Dehggi’s review: here). And I raise you some Brussels Spouses:

[Michael Spyres (every Mitridate), Lenneke Ruiten (Aspasia), Myrtò Papatanasiu (Sifare), Mozart’s “Mitridate”, Brussels 2016.]

…and some Seria Spice:

tryingtobesubtleaboutphalliccommentary.jpg

[Salome Jicia (Sifare), some really subtle phallic imaginery, Albina Shagamuritova (Aspasia) in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, London/ROH 2017. – Photo Credit: Bill Cooper.]

[Myrtò Papatanasiu (Sifare), Jaël Azzaretti (Arbate) in Mozart’s “Mitridate”, Paris/TCE 2016.]

“Hello, White Shirts. Look at your Tricolore Klingon Sifare above, now back to me, now back to your Sifare, now back to me. Sadly, he isn’t me, but if he started wearing well-tailored shirts and switched to a closer distance to his soprano, he could look at bit like he’d be me (also, look how this skirt fits into my hands. No jumping through hoops).
Look down, back up, where are you? You’re in Paris with the Sifare your Sifare should sound like. What’s in your hand, back at me. I have it, it’s a suit jacket that matches this shirt that you love. Look again, its buttons are now legato lines. Anything is possible when your Sifare sounds like piny seria and, also, a lot like a lady. I’m on a table, dancing. #SeriaSpice.

18 thoughts on “Seria Spice”

  1. is your label of Aspasia from ROH the right one? Didn’t Dehggi reported a different singer? Also, just pointing out your post content modified slightly the wp-suggestion for “further reading” on my screen. My pref is for the Aspasia on the left of the suggestion..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Saving your screenshot 🙂

      (as far as I understood, Shagamuritova sang the first show(s) and was in the official photoshoot?)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I almost didn’t make any remarks to the contrary in the comments 😉 But after reading your take, I’d give it a try. Mozart and Klingons, sounds like I should enjoy that.

        >

        Like

        1. Ah, I was thinking about the Connolly in Glyndebourne… got the TADW in my season tix already, but still missing the Scipione and the Zingarelli (the casting of which still drives me nuts, but what else is new at TADW…)

          Like

          1. Only for the shows as of January! (I hope they did not change THAT because otherwise I have to drop everything and order)

            >

            Like

Leave a Reply

