White Skirt Wednesday: The Writing Is On The Wall

[Trust Issues don’t sound good. Only sometimes, they do (and she shouldn’t have trusted him in the first place): Myrtò Papatanasiu (Donna Elvira) in Kasper Holten’s imported-to-BCN staging of Mozart’s “Don Giovanni”, Barcelona 2017 – Clip with thanks to losdelafundacionliceu sonunostiranos – by all means, don’t hold back there.]

Great return from a vacation: clips of favorite singers having appeared from productions that were not available in any kind of broadcast (thanks, thadieu!). Especially great: clips of very favorites who haven’t been broadcast much this year yet.

And apropos White Skirts and broadcasts that one might have missed: I am still looking for the a video stream copy of the Aix “Carmen” with d’Oustrac, and of the Lyon “Viva la Mamma!” with Naouri (which is on Culturebox, but geoblocked). If any of you have been smarter and faster and secured safety editions, please let me know.

 

 

 

60 thoughts on “White Skirt Wednesday: The Writing Is On The Wall”

  1. super curious about that Aix Carmen. from the reviews I can decide if it’s a total takedown of patriarchy or a misogynist fantasy of a misogynist fantasy…

    Like

    1. I just saw it’s not geoblocked here, but the file is huuuge…. If it’s important to you all, I guess I can cut it using ffmpeg and send piece by piece with db?

      Like

      1. the Carmen on Culturebox (also at Joaquim’s, btw) is the Paris one, not the Aix one (if you mean that file)
        Aix apparently was on ARTE, but only briefly? Or did you see it on another website that I could try? And the Donizetti is on Culturebox, but geoblocked (at least in Austria).
        I use Handbrake for downsizing if files are huge, but I don’t know if it’s Linux compatible. But thadieu certainly would also have a an ffmpeg script for that!

        Like

          1. Haha, when looking for the file to rename I saw it’s not really 7,5 GB, jdownloader just downloaded all available versions, which are 7,5 in total. So I have one 1,3 GB version already which I can db. I’ll send you all the link.

            Liked by 2 people

          2. this could take up to 2hrs so normally i set it on when i plan to be away from the computer. also a quick note: it is better to give it duration:

            first: ffmeg -i inputfile

            Like

          3. oops i replied too soon..
            first get the duration by looking at the file info:
            ffmeg -i inputfile

            assume it is 2hr 50min 46sec long, now type command

            ffmpeg -i inputfile -acodec copy -vcodec libx264 -ss 00:00:00 -t 02:50:46 fileout.mkv

            Like

          1. an ARTE link! Why doe that not show over here? (I googled it last night and couldn’t find one!) I should be able to get that, thank you!!

            Like

    2. Bieito may not be the most gender-sensitive, but I like the fact that he said from the start that he couldn’t connect to the story at face value.

      Like

        1. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a production of his that wasn’t smart. I mean I got the “oh please, do you need that gore?” or the “yeah, but it’s just sex/nudity/kinks, what’s the big deal?” reaction now and then, but he is a recovering Catholic, I am a Lutheran… but I really like the view he turns onto so society, and the way he questions patterns beyond comfort levels.

          Like

          1. Yeah, I think that’s why I want to see it for myself (and/or us together cuz we’re smart), because Micaela’s review wasn’t helpful enough for me to understand the point of his take. as in, it reads to me like “oh, poor emotionally numb [white] man, let’s help him connect with his emotions by killing a woman.” Um…no. But I don’t think it’s fair to jump to that conclusion without more evidence, hence my curiosity. I’m not a Carmen fan anyway so I guess generally have a hermeneutic of suspicion when it comes to the piece. And obviously being in the US don’t really know Bieito’s work. Anyway!

            Like

          2. Oh, I sure hope it’s white-man-reconciling-with emotions by killing the transgressive, othered (“gypsy”) female. I like to think Bieito would be smarter than that. If his handiwork is clean (it usually is, if he isn’t going berserk at Catholic as a fascist set-up (a reaction that stems from witnessing the Spanish fascist regime and its echoes)), it should read more as “colonialist man is so stunted his only way of feeling anything is to shoot the whole experiment to pieces because he cannot deal with not being the hegemonial figure, he is that hopeless”. But it looks like we’ll get to find out together 🙂 (not a Carmen fan, either, BUT there are definitely interesting ways to do this one)

            Like

          3. looking forward to finding out, at least the “together” bit!

            (makes me think of that “Cosi” from…was that last summer? that wanted to be all anti-colonial and yet perpetrated so much colonial harm. we’ll see!)

            Like

          4. yes, that was last summer (reading the Lindsey interview on it has placated me a bit, but I still think it was too voyeuristic and with too much left uncommented).

            With Bieito, things are usually full of commentary, though he goes after the guts with his imagery, but I have less issues with him there. I used to scoff at him for the gore, but then I saw his “Wozzeck”, and the way he addressed capitalism/de-humanization/technocracy, and reconsidered.

            Like

          5. See, I just don’t know his work at all. So I am trusting you cuz you are smart about this stuff. 🙂

            Also capitalism/de-humanization/technocracy etc. is gorey. maybe that’s part off the point.

            Like

          6. I just sent you the link, though, reading your discussion here, I’m not sure anymore if it is the right production… please check!

            Like

          7. My mistake, I mixed up the directors! Aix is Tcherniakov, with the therapy set-up (very psychology/memory, I’s trust Bieito more with the concept).
            The Bieito is the one that just got redone in Paris with Garanca, with the patriarchy/military set-up. But we also have that saved away 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          8. Ah, OK, I didn’t really have time to look into it yet, I think it has some kind of meta-level? Can’t say I find it particularly interesting at first sight, but then, I guess Carmen is difficult to stage if you want to get away from cliché Andalusia. Too bad the one with Spyres as Jose was not staged, that one was very good musically from the broadcast.

            Like

          9. Isn’t he usually very meta? And very Freudian… he was the one with the Trovatore that was set as a memory therapy session hosted by Azucena.

            Like

  2. Will there be an Idomeneo MET (Levine; Sierra, van den Heever, Coote, Polenzani) liveblog anytime soon? If yes when, unless it’ll be a private session again?

    Like

    1. That’s a good suggestion – it didn’t come up recently! There is one Idomeneo already marked for a soonish date, which would be the Bacelli/Bell. We really need to write a list.

      Since you posted anonymously, I don’t know who you are, and how familiar you are with our live blog format. All public events are announced with a post and described availability of the material.

      The only exceptions (and those are not announced with a post) are cases where it concerns material entrusted to me by a house official/press department/artist’s management with restrictions that I respect (e.g. ‘no online sharing’, ‘only people you also know offline and can personally vouch for’, etc).

      >

      Like

  3. I was not quite familiar with liveblogs. Thank you for clarifying. Idomeneo is available on VOD on MET and I already got one copy. I’d be happy to share it with you all if you’d like unless it is against your blog policy, or have other personal objections.

    Otherwise, I’ll check here from time to time to see if you posted the announcement.

    Like

    1. It would probably be autumn-ish, with the other Idomeneo on the wishlist before that, and some other things (I am collecting the wishlist at the moment), belonging to this festival summer and older petitions like Baden-Baden Magic Flute, or the older Antonacci Poppea, or the “Vologeso” production.

      To check the schedules more easily, I’ll make a list post and put it in the Upcoming Liveblog tag; that would also be the tag to check for current announcements: https://aniklachev.wordpress.com/tag/upcoming-liveblog/

      Thank you for the Idomeneo offer. I think it is widespread enough in the net that there are copies available. We try to share protected material only in small-size copies, and not publicly, to limit exposure. And of course if it were a private copy that an artist/house/management has entrusted to you asking you not to share it publicly, that would make it off limits. But a commercial VOD to which some of us have bought official access anyway, or that is on YT, I find acceptable.

      >

      Like

  4. It is a commercial VOD copy (actually I almost hold the entire MET collection). As for Baden-Baden Magic Flute, I presume it is with the one with Simone Rattle. Am I Right? I happen to have a copy from MEZZO  If anyone interested. I have no idea how I may share it “not publicly” though.

    One Youtuber has already uploaded the Antonacci Poppea in parts. And, for Vologeso, my best guess would be Niccolo Jommelli’s Il Vologeso Classical Opera/Ian Page Cadogan Hall? No luck with that! I may have a CD Box set with Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra somewhere though (too much clutter to sort through I am afraid).

    Thank you for the reminder for the current announcement link. I’ll do that. À bientôt!

    Annmarie

    Like

    1. Hi Annmarie,

      Thank you for all your generous offers. When a show ends up on the list, it usually means we have a copy that we could circle if it is not on ARTE or YT etc. But it’s good to hear there is another archive out there (and a well-stocked one at that!!).

      Like

  5. Could it be by any chance Oper Stuttgart – Oper Stuttgart – Il Vologeso? If yes, I have an Arte Concert copy, too 🙂 No, I am not Santa!

    Annmarie

    Like

    1. yes, that one! (Santa would have good taste in Baroque) I have a downsized version for traffic, we should get to it still this summer, I hope.

      Like

  6. Is it ok for me to post links here? (If ok, I should upload them first though)
    I have 2 versions: a) a 2.8 GB mp4 (1280*720, 25 fps), and b) a 1.8 GB mkv (1280*720, 25 fps).
    Or, shall I open a private account in YT?
    🙂
    Annmarie

    Like

    1. Thank you, Annmarie. That much work on your side will not be necessary, though, since we have an ARTE copy and a work file.
      Thank you for asking about posting links on here, too, because that is something we do not do any longer, not even with YouTube (at least when it comes to full operas), to protect provider channels and their work, and to limit exposure when it comes to download of possibly copyrighted releases.
      We do all the sharing offblog via email, to not cause legal troubles. Since it generally does not concern more than a half dozen people and our traffic copies are beneath commercial value, we stay under the radar. And we promote the joy of opera while we are at it!

      Like

      1. Anytime!

        Staying under the radar is good. My offer for you all will stand, though. Feel free to drop me a quick note at any time. I’ll see what I can do about it.

        PS: Santa would not be able to handle delivering the file 🙂 I’ve watched it. It is sizzling hot (at some point very hot, indeed).

        Annmarie

        Like

        1. Ah, so no White Christmas? 😉

          (thanks for the info, I’ll reach out if something comes up. See you around!)

          Like

Leave a Reply

