White Shirt Monday: The Answer Is Threesome

[Look at all that tension. Look at that wallpaper. No, don’t look at the wallpaper. Also, don’t look for the CT Ruggiero. We got this. – Cecilia Bartoli (Alcina), Julie Fuchs (Morgana) and Varduhi Abrahamyan (Bradamante) in Handel’s “Alcina”, Zurich 2016. – Photo Credit: the one and only Monika Rittershaus]

Why is it that so many opera plots can be peacefully resolved with “threesome!”?

And why does that seem to apply to “Alcina” most of all?

Clearly, this will be a week of deeply philosphical questions.

 

13 thoughts on “White Shirt Monday: The Answer Is Threesome”

    1. jeah, i read on fb.. and no back ups.. i didn’t think of it.. i guess a screen capture of what is up on a channel might even help? as the person seems to be asking for a list?..

      Like

      1. I just saw the channel, not FB – I think it was the biggest outlet at the moment? No. 2 is under temporary lockdown, only the third seems unhindered for now. At least they work with several outlets and didn’t lose all their work.

        >

        Like

  1. That’s sad news. I’ve read last night and wondered what does the “Magic Channel” mean. I hope the third option always remains viable.

    Btw, your post has become quite an assignment for me. I am intrigued. A multi-parameter, psychological question. Suffice to say, I may not find a peaceful resolution. Let me ask you this? Is it going to be a WWM, or WMM relationship? Oh, there is also your Bradamante post (mentally poking myself, do not even go there!). (And, out of curiosity. How old do you think Alcina was?)

    Annmarie

    Like

    1. But does this threesome need to have permanent binary alignments? Can’t just be three people whose gender expression may be more flexible?

      The age of a centuries old sorceress in the vein of Circe: clearly, it must be 42!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, it does not. They’d be perfectly non-binary, or gender fluid. In my case, age mattered, though. That is why I specifically asked. But, I think they could manage somehow.

        As for the photograph, one of my first impressions was that I was like prying into a heart-wrenching moment of these 3 individuals. The look on Alcina’s face 😦 I do not know. That’s only me talking.

        Annmarie

        Like

Leave a Reply

